A year in my life

Until last night, I was convinced that I started writing this blog a year ago today. Then I went into the archives and realized that my first post appeared on October 1, 2007. Guess I missed my big anniversary! Flaky – that’s a description that describes both me and my pastry.

I was a complete neophyte a year and a week ago when I started this project. Not only had I never written a blog, but I had barely read any and had never posted a comment on a blog or subscribed to one using RSS feed.

Things have changed! I have learned so much the last year and being a blogger has certainly been fun. I can honestly say that I have new friends because I became a blogger and I feel like I have new insights into how people cook and feel about food, too.

Since this blog was not available on WordPress until January, I thought I’d add links to some of the early posts which were hosted on the homemakers.com website. I got a kick out of revisiting these early attempts and hope that you will as well.

October 2007

November 2007

December 2007

I also want to extend to everyone who’s stopped by in the last 12 months a hearty ‘thank you!’ and for those of you who comment, the gratitude is sent out in double measure. Likewise, this blog would never have happened without Jennifer Melo suggesting it so I thank her as well. Jen, you’ve been unfailingly supportive and encouraging this past year and every kind word has been greatly appreciated! Special thanks also to Dayna Boyer and Adrienne Robertson.

I can’t believe I missed my own blog anniversary and now have to post these thanks on the wrong date. I assure you that they are no less heartfelt because of the delay.

Have you ever missed a birthday or anniversary? If so, please tell me about it so that I won’t feel like such a lonely goof.

17 Responses to A year in my life

  1. Rosa says:

    I’m never to good at remembering dates… Happy belated Bloganniversary! Keep up with the good work!

    Blogging has also changed my “virtual” life ;-P…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Congratulations on a year of blogging! Isn’t it amazing how time flies and how much you learn without realizing it? I look back over my early posts /photos and cringe.

    And yes, I’ve missed birthdays. I forgot one of my best friend’s birthdays and when she mentioned the party I’d not shown up to, I tried to make myself better by saying, “Oh well, at least it wasn’t a milestone birthday.” Goofed again. It had forgotten her 40th. I’ve never lived it down, nor do I deserve to.

  3. Candace says:

    Happy Blogday! Don’t you just love the blogging community? Its really changed my life for the better. Not only do I have a journal of what I’ve done over the past year, I have organized recipes for the first time in my life.

    Keep on bloggin, and I’ll keep on coming back…🙂

  4. Cheryl says:

    I echo the congrats of your fans above. Happy blogiversary, Dana! Your posts are always thought-provoking and fun to read.

    I only wish I could share that cupcake with you. It looks like a lovely little brioche!

  5. Hélène says:

    Congratulations! Many more years.

  6. danamccauley says:

    Thanks all! Your enthusiasm is much appreciated. Thanks also for sharing your stories of forgotten dates. It makes me feel better to know that I’m not the only one who has calendar challenges.

  7. Adam says:

    Congrats on the BIG one year mark Dana! That’s so awesome. I hope you keep it up for a long, long time. Have I ever missed a birthday? Not my own, but I’ve missed a couple of friends unfortunately.

  8. danamccauley says:

    Thanks, Adam. I’m at the age where I wish I could miss my own birthday.

  9. Jen Melo says:

    Congratulations on your 1-year mark, my favourite blogger on the entire worldwide web! Here’s to many more years of thought-provoking and appetite-stimulating blogging, here’s to more cupcake posts and great gardening adventures, and here’s to you!

    Thanks for the lovely shout-out, too😉

  10. Cheryl A says:

    Congratulations! I’m happy to have found you.
    Sadly, I forgot my own birthday this year. Seriously, I did. My excuse was my new babe, born 10 days previous.

  11. Maris says:

    Happy Blogiversary!🙂 At least you didn’t forget your OWN birthday. Now, that would have been unfortunate. Ha-ha!

  12. Maris says:

    PS – Cheryl: your birthday-lapse was completely understandable. New baby trumps birthday!🙂

  13. adrian says:

    Happy Blogday! (Sorta). Congratulations – it’s an excellent blog, one of my favourites, actually. I visit regularly, even though I “lurk” more than I comment. (Anyway, the last time I commented, I inadvertently insulted your husband, so…)
    And I moved to Canada 15 years ago this week but I’ve forgotten the exact date, so you’re not the only one to miss anniversaries. (Did we have the internet in 93????)

  14. Don’t feel bad, my aunt actually forgot her own birthday! That’s bad! Anyway happy bloganniversary!

  15. Kevin says:

    Happy blogiversary!

  16. Kitt says:

    I always forget my blogiversary, but I made a note when my posts topped 1,000.

    Happy blogging! Here’s to another great year of posting.

  17. peabody says:

    Happy blog anniversary. I have missed mine twice now.😉

Leave a Reply

