Dana’s Big Gardening Adventure: It just goes on and on

I know that some of you are wondering: ” what could she be doing in her garden now that it’s autumn in Ontario?” The truth is, not much. It’s time to rototill and put this baby to bed for the winter to be honest (fortunately, there’s a long weekend ahead – I’ll have to see if I can borrow John’s rototiller for Saturday!).

Despite the fact that I’m not actively gardening right now myself, the fall produce and the bounty of Canadian harvest season is glorious! Two weeks ago on a PA Day I took my son Oliver and his BFF Paul apple picking at Pine Orchard Farms. It was a gorgeous sunny day, about 20 degrees and the place was absolutely packed with moms and kids. Since then, I’ve been to the Farmers’ Market a few times and likewise, encountered crowds of people eager to get their hands on local produce.

It’s wonderful to see local farmers getting this support. The good news is that my experience here in Toronto isn’t an isolated trend. In fact, the venerable Oxford Dictionary chose ‘Locavore’ as the 2007 word of the year based on its frequency of use last year.

If you haven’t had a chance to visit a Farmers’ Market or to plant a little veggie garden of your own, it’s not too late to get in on the movement. In fact, you can use some of the extra time afforded by Thanksgiving weekend to get out and buy some local carrots, potatoes, onions and pumpkins like the ones pictured above.

Not sure where to go? In Ontario check out the wonderful Farmer’s Market finder created by Greenbelt Fresh. For locations in other provinces, visit the Canadian Farmers’ Market site. It allows you to search by region and by product so if all you want to buy is eggs or cheese, they’ll help you find it!

Need Thanksgiving Dinner Help?
Check out these turkey preparation tips I published on my Dana’s Top Ten Table site last year.

6 Responses to Dana’s Big Gardening Adventure: It just goes on and on

  1. I love our local Farmers’ Market. Sure it’s a bit crowded, but it’s much more friendly than the checkout line at the grocery store. Every week I bump into someone I know and we spend as much time chatting as shopping. I’m heading there tomorrow for Concord grapes….mmmmm….pie!!

    Your Big Garden Adventure has inspired me to rethink the veggie patch. I’ve roped my parents into thinking about the extended family starting a community garden next spring. Maybe we can borrow John’s rototiller?🙂

  2. Rosa says:

    I’d love to see your local market and those rows of pumpkins!

    Cheers and have a nice weekend,

    Rosa

  3. Cheryl says:

    I still can’t get my arms around the thought that it’s October. I feel like it’s still late summer, and that has everything to do with my mindset and nothing to do with the weather. I even have no idea what my kids will be for Halloween. Seeing these pumpkins is a stark reminder that I’d better wake up! I love fall, and if I don’t pay attention it’ll soon be over…

  4. Adam says:

    Yup it’s pumpkin season… it’s that awesome! I love the fall produce too, the apples, the squash, everything. I hope you had fun on your PA day, and good job putting the kids to work with getting the apples🙂 Just kidding…

  5. Hélène says:

    We have a nice, little Saturday Market, here in the Valley. I do miss the markets in Montreal or farm markets in Nova Scotia or Ontario. Here is not the same. But I still go and encourage them. There is nothing like eating fresh food from local merchants.

  6. Shari says:

    Thanks for the tidbit about the term ‘Locavore’. Interesting! Although I like Fall, I don’t like that it means the end of summer!

Leave a Reply

