Halloween treats

Many of you will be buying costumes, candy and decorations this weekend for Halloween. I love trick-or-treating –- it’s so fun to see all the houses decorated and to have kids come to the door in costume. That said, while I love a yearly binge on little chocolate bars and mini bags of chips, every year my son’s bag of loot always contains far more than anyone in our household needs or even wants to eat. In fact, usually sometime around December 1st, I throw away half a bag of stale treats that are still hanging around the house. What a waste!

I’m guessing we aren’t the only family who finds Halloween treats too much of a good thing so I urge you to pick up non-edible treats this year. Looking for ideas?

Make a trip to the dollar store for:
• Pencils
• Stickers
• Card games
• Self inking stamps
• Erasers
• Beads and string
• Crazy straws

Or go to the garden centre and buy:
• Seed packets for growing flowers in pots
• Tree seedlings (fall is the perfect time to plant!)

From the grocery store:

• Packets of raisins or Craisins 100 calorie packs

Single-serve fruit cups

• Cheese strings

• Juice boxes

11 Responses to Halloween treats

  1. When I was a kid, Hallowe’en candy had a pecking order. Chocolate bars and chips were at the top and kiss candies and apples were at the bottom. I actually liked the tiny boxes of Sunmaid raisins, but many kids felt ripped off if a treat was perceived as being even slightly good for you. A local dentist handed out toothbrushes. Word spread quickly and no one went to his house.

    Since I have no kids and must deal with all the left overs myself, I’ll be handing out my favourite mini chocolate bars.

  2. Rosa says:

    I’d love to trick-or-treat, but Halloween doesn’t exist here… The stores tried to make it trendy, but it didn’t work.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. Sheryl says:

    Noooo Dana, don’t be the raisin lady!!!

    We use to give out dollar store toys and pencils and such when we lived somewhere that got trick or treaters, but raisins were the most-hated treat when I was a kid. Even for the kids who liked raisins.

  4. Cheryl says:

    OK, I’m definitely an advocate for healthy eating, but I turn it off on Halloween. I never keep candy in the house during the year, and when my kids get candy at birthday parties they usually eat a piece or two and put the rest away in the cupboard, where they promptly forget about it. In fact, every Halloween I toss the candy they got the prior Halloween but never ended up eating. (As Charmian said, there’s a pecking order, so they always eat the good stuff first anyway.)

    I do give out candy on Halloween, though, and will continue to do so without qualms. I’d rather focus on improving kids’ diets the other 364 days of the year and let them have their one night of indulgence sans guilt.

  5. Hélène says:

    I give a mix of things like you mentioned but still prefer the small chocolate bars and chips. I love Halloween.

  6. Cindy H says:

    I love the little toy idea! My daughter picked up a bag of a LOT of spider rings at our local dollar store, and I’ll be handing them out with some candy as well.
    I agree with Cheryl with having a day sans guilt for eating candy…..well, that and Easter and Christmas and Valentine’s Day. ;o)

    Cindy H
    http://www.jbkpottery.com

  7. Cheryl A says:

    I had to laugh at the comment about buying what we want, so the leftovers get enjoyed. I usually buy extra just to have the leftovers… for me, not the kid.

  8. danamccauley says:

    Okay, so I can see the raisins were a mistake -but can I be the temporary tattoo and glittery pencil lady?

  9. Christine says:

    Great idea about the dollar store! Here is another one that I did for this year. Last year I hit Target at the end of Halloween and bought a ton of goodies, fake teeth, spiders, kazoos, and bubbles all on sale!

  10. danamccauley says:

    Bubbles – I love them! (and, yes I know that I’m middle aged).

  11. Cakespy says:

    You tan totally be the glittery pencil, temporary tattoo, and bubble lady–but please, please, no raisins!!!

Leave a Reply

