Road food

This recent post on the Fresh from the Oven blog got my attention. After reading about how Mandy bakes banana bread for her own and her friends’ road trips, I realized that perhaps one of the reasons I don’t like road trips is because we don’t have any ritual foods associated with car travel. We usually grab coffee and gas and head out on the road. If I pack a few apples or oranges, I’m having a good day. Anything else we need, we buy along the way. Usually that stuff is disappointingly bad.

What about you? Do you have special road trip foods? Do you pack a picnic lunch or deal with the horror that is roadside fast food?

15 Responses to Road food

  1. Candace says:

    Pringles chips… I always buy a can of them when I’m travelling by car, and stop at a gas station for a snack. I think its because they are so convenient, but I don’t particularly like the taste of them.

    Also, when flying, I always drink tomato juice on the plane. Funny… I never drink it any other time. My husband thinks I’m weird, and I agree with him!

  2. Cheryl says:

    Bananas along with ziplocs to store the spent peels. Homemade trail mix. Bags of dried mixed cereal for my kids. Reusable water bottles for everyone. Wow, this sounds really boring, but it’s what we do. We usually stop at a diner or some local non-chain for a quick meal, but honestly, I haven’t taken a road trip in a while!

  3. Rebecca says:

    Instead of spending too much cash on road-trip convenience foods, Jeff and I stop by our local bakey; buy some of their focaccia topped with rosemary, black olives and tomatoes; and stuff it with ham or turkey. The sandwiches are filling and delicious, and we don’t have any condiments or sandwich fixings to pack and keep up with. The less mess in the car, the better!

  4. Cheryl A says:

    It’s funny. Now that we have kids there is always rood food! And we are finally getting smarter and making sure there is more than raisins, grapes, and crackers for us as well. The best we do so far is stopping at the bakery beside the Starbucks on the way out.

  5. Rosa says:

    I generally don’t… But, I remember well my grandmother’s Tuna Sandwiches!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  6. I don’t allow eating in my car—I don’t like crumbs—but the occasional cup of espresso is fine. Plus i can’t remember when I was in a car for more than two hours. It seems that most places I go are farther away and I fly.

  7. danamccauley says:

    Peter, you would faint at what happens in my car – I love it clean but have just committed to the fact that I need an account with the car cleaner folks. It seems like my son is hungry ALL THE TIME! and that banning food in the car would mean about a millions stops or never leaving the house.

    Thanks for all your comments folks!

  8. Road trips into The States make bringing homemade snacks too risky. Get a grumpy border guard and you could see your lunch go in the trash. Doesn’t matter if your orange originally came from Florida, you can’t take it back into the US.

    Most of our in-country road trips are only a few hours, so snacks aren’t necessary. When we do stop, it’s to stretch our legs and go to the bathroom, which means a stop at Tim Hortons. You can’t use their facilities without buying SOMETHING. You know the rest…

  9. Adam says:

    My ultimate road food is beef jerky. It’s high in protein, doesn’t need to stay cold, and um… I like it🙂

  10. Elra says:

    Home made trail mix, apples,oranges, dark chocolate, and beef jerky is a must.

  11. danamccauley says:

    Wow! Lots of beef jerky love…I’m not a fan. I find it often has strange after flavours and that it makes me super thirsty….am I buying the wrong brand?

  12. Natashya says:

    We like to pack a cooler with water, sandwiches, fruit, and whatever baked goods we have.
    The only road food we buy is coffee (at a chain like Tim Hortons) for the driver (hubby) so I can use the bathroom! (If we didn’t have such weak bladders, I am sure there would only be half as many coffee shops.)

  13. Cakespy says:

    Seltzer, always seltzer! …apples and nuts too I guess. We always try to hit bakeries along the way!

  14. Kitt says:

    Funny! Candace you’re not so weird. I drink tomato juice on planes and always buy Pringles on the road. And Twizzlers and jerky. Sometimes even PopTarts.

  15. Puglette says:

    Water and kibbles for the doggies and home made granola, fruit, chips for us. If we are stopping for an overnight trip, we bring our own ground coffee, cream and sweetner. Sometimes we bring cereal and stop for milk. We love road trips! With gas getting a bit more reasonable, we hope we can get on the road again.

Leave a Reply

