Man, I feel like a woman

I found this 1960’s commercial for Gold Medal Flour simultaneously horrifying and fascinating — which was good enough reason for me to share it with you here today!

Sometimes when I watch the show Mad Men on TV, I find it hard to believe that we’ve so quickly transitioned to an age where characters like Damage’s Patty Hewes and women like Oprah can succeed on TV; but, this commercial makes it clear that Mad Men is a truer to life portrayal of 60’s attitudes than I imagined. I shouldn’t be surprised. After all, we’ve gone from Rosa Parks to Barrack Obama in just about the same amount of time.

I wonder if Don Draper is on his way over to have a piece of the cake shown at the end of this clip? Will he be turned on by Anne Foster’s virginal, white thumb? And, more importantly will he clear the plates and do the dishes? Yeah, I know, that’s just crazy talk.

10 Responses to Man, I feel like a woman

  1. Natashya says:

    Ha! I have never thought of bakers having a white thumb. I like it.
    Love Mad Men – what a fascinating time. Amazing how much things have changed in such a short time. I wouldn’t mind one of those skirts though, you know, if I had a waist.🙂

  2. Rosa says:

    A real jewel! This white thumb thing is hilarious!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. Cheryl says:

    Wow, that’s a trip, Dana. I like how the announcer sounds like he’s about 90 and how the lady cracks her egg directly into the bowl of flour (as if).

    Mad Man is my favorite show and I’m so sad the season has run its course.

  4. Boy is this interesting…I have a bag of this in my cabinet at home!

    -DTW
    http://www.everydaycookin.blogspot.com

  5. Once again, Cheryl and I are on the same wavelength. I couldn’t believe when she cracked the egg right into the flour. Wouldn’t a real baker spot that immediately?

    I don’t watch Mad Men. Think I’m missing something. Hope it’s out on DVD since I’ll need something to keep me going through the long, cold Canadian winter that’s heading our way. If not, I’ll just get some Gold Medal Flour and bake, bake, bake…

  6. […] you have a “white thumb?” Thanks to Dana McCauley for this tip. You know how much I’ve been loving my rediscovery of baking. This is just too […]

  7. Adam says:

    Wow, they’ve been around for that long? I feel like I should be watching some TV land and cooking with lard🙂 Just kidding, thanks for the video Dana🙂

  8. danamccauley says:

    Adam, I know you are a healthy eating advocate, but I have to tell you that I bake with lard all the time – it’s my go to it ingredient for pie crust. I couldn’t bake without it!

  9. Cheryl A says:

    Don Draper would never clear the table!

Leave a Reply

