Roasted chicken soup broth

roastedchickenbones

I’m shoving humility aside (okay, I know that’s not exactly newsworthy info) to let everyone know that people who taste it really, really like my chicken soup.

Do you want to know why? Because I roast the chicken bones I use before I start to make the broth. It’s a simple step that yields a fragrant and flavourful golden broth that tastes wonderfully rich.

As the picture above shows, simply spread your chicken bones on a baking sheet (I line mine with foil so that scrubbing will be minimized – besides immodesty, laziness is another of my flaws) and pop them into a preheated 350°(180°) oven for 30 to 40 minutes or until lightly browned. Then, proceed to make your broth as usual. (If you need a refresher, check out this post written by Rob Heidenreich last winter).

Do you have any soup secrets that you’d like to share?

7 Responses to Roasted chicken soup broth

  1. Rosa says:

    A great idea! The broth must be wonderfully fragrant after having roasted the chicken bones…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Elra says:

    Hi Dana,
    I do this (roasting the bones) when I make beef or lamb broth, but never with chicken (have no idea why)
    Now that you’ve post it, I think I’ll do this with chicken as well.

  3. Nah – I don’t have any secrets at all actually…just really good seasonings and fresh veggies…

    -DTW
    http://www.everdaycookin.blogspot.com

  4. I haven’t tried it with roasted chicken bones, but I bet the caramelization adds a wonderful flavour.

    I don’t think there are any real secrets, just a few common mistakes to avoid. Don’t boil the broth and don’t stir it. I have a few pointers on ratios on my recent blog post:
    http://christie-corner.blogspot.com/2008/10/perfect-chicken-stock.html

    It snowed this morning for the first time this winter, so your post is very timely!

  5. Cheryl says:

    I would love some roasted chicken broth right now. Haven’t made any stock yet this fall and the time is definitely nigh…

  6. danamccauley says:

    Charmian: Snow already? And you’re so close to where I live that it means I really better buy my kid some boots in a hurry….Yikes!

    I guess I can tie buckets of chicken soup to his feet but it might be hard for him to run and jump with such footwear.

    Cheryl: get thee to the kitchen!

  7. […] posts: • Chicken Broth Tips • Easy Economical Parsnip Lemon Soup • Rob’s 10 Tips for Making Soup Stock • Slimming […]

Leave a Reply

