Lending a helping hand to foodie friends

peter20hertzmann

I’ve been a professional foodie for most of my adult years. During that time I’ve met many people and joined numerous associations to help me network and build my business. One of the associations I’m most active in these days is the International Association of Culinary Professionals. One of the reasons I like the association is that it gives me contacts all over the world who I can call on for trend information or for prospective for articles I’m working on.

I met Palo Alto food writer and cookery teacher Peter Hertzmann last spring at the IACP Conference and now we’re working with several others to create a seminar for the 2009 IACP Conference to be held in Denver next April. He and I met last week for lunch at Le Pain Quotidien here in Toronto to discuss our seminar and to catch up.

Over tuna melts, Peter told me about a fun contest he’s entered to win a spot on a two-hour broadcast about cooking with garlic that his local public television station, KTEH, will be airing in December.

Curious to see Peter in action? Check out his and the other entrants’ videos on the station’s website. To be selected for the show, entrants need people to vote for their videos.

Peter’s vying for the title of “Best Chef,” “Video with the Tastiest Dish,” or “Best Overall Video,” so if you like what he’s doing, give him your support! Voting ends November 15th so pop over soon to get in on the action.

Have any of you ever entered a cooking contest? I once participated in a charity bake-off where we had to use Easy Bake ovens; I think that may be the only time I competed as a foodie.

6 Responses to Lending a helping hand to foodie friends

  1. I’ve never entered a video contest, although I host a sample video for a website once. Sadly the site folded — and not because of me (I hope).

    I’ve entered a few recipe contests but never won. My mother remains the sole prize winning baker in the family. And I’m okay with that.

  2. Elra says:

    Hi Dana,
    Since Palo Alto is my neighboring town (in fact, my son was attending Palo Alto school district) I will read some more about Peter!

    Unfortunately, I never really entered any contest! I don’t know why?
    Cheers,
    Elra

  3. danamccauley says:

    I think entering contests takes a lot of time and courage and that may be why I don’t enter a lot of them. I think you have to be an essentially optimistic person to enter a contest. That’s likely why I rarely buy lottery tickets, too. I’m just too pessimistic to believe I could win!

  4. Cheryl A says:

    I’ve entered a couple of recipe contests, but no great luck. The only contest I’ve ever won was an Easter colouring contest when I was 10. My mom was not pleased with the giant pink stuffed bunny that I won.

  5. Rosa says:

    I have never entered a cooking contest as I am too much of a stressed person for that kind of stuff nor have I participated in a charity-bake… But I have baked at other people’s place, using ovens which were totally different to mine.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  6. Cheryl says:

    Like Elra, I live very close to Palo Alto and feel like I should know Peter, too. I wish him luck! (I “won” a mascot naming contest when I was in grade school. The prize? A coupon for a free box of Ring Dings!)

Leave a Reply

