Lovin’ my oven

lasagnainoven

It’s fall and, as much as my grill entranced me this summer, now I’m crushing on my oven. Seriously, I can’t get enough. In the last week I made this lasagna, the roasted chicken soup I mentioned on Monday, mustard and apple jelly glazed rack of pork, pizza, macaroni and cheese and roasted rosemary scented butternut squash. It’s been great! I didn’t realize how much I missed the comforting oven cooked foods of fall until I started to make them again.

What’s your favourite food from the oven? Do you use your oven only for baking sweets or do you enjoy savoury roasted and baked foods, too?

18 Responses to Lovin’ my oven

  1. Kitt says:

    No-knead bread! And also lasagna and cake. And anything braised. And roasted tomatoes. And other vegetables.

    Ovens are the bomb.

  2. Rosa says:

    I like to cook/bake sweet and savory dishes/specialities like gratin dauphinois, lasagna, roasted potatoes, pies, muffins, breads, cakes, meat, puddings, toad in the hole, etc… I love to use my oven!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. peabody says:

    I use my oven for everything (we have no grill). I bake a lot of sweets. But I also do roasts, I cook most of my meats in the overn (after I sear them on the stove top), mac and cheese, all itialian foods, casseroles, you name it really.

  4. Adam says:

    Wow, look at that lasagna bubble! Your oven is quite the workhorse, and this is def their time of year to get cooking.

    I usually do the sweet stuff, and dad does the savory🙂

  5. Marusya says:

    I’m on a chocolate chip cookie binge. Love the smell. Love the cookies too!

  6. Candace says:

    I broil fish often in my oven, and of course, use it for bakery stuff!

  7. Cheryl says:

    I bake much more often than I cook, but I do roast vegetables several times a week.

    For some reason making lasagna always seems so time-consuming in the abstract, but your photo is a reminder of how much I love it. It’s probably my favorite comfort food (along with macaroni and cheese).

  8. Jen Melo says:

    That lasagna looks yummy! My oven favourites are: herb-roasted potatoes, pizza, chocolate pound cake, roast beef, salmon, shepherd’s pie and lasagna. Question for you, Dana: Do you prefer no-boil lasagna noodles?

  9. I bake a lot just around Christmas, but during the winter I use the oven frequently for all sorts of things, most of them savory. I’m a roasted sweet potato addict and make them at least once a week. And hot appetizers? Have to use an oven, not a microwave.

    Can’t imagine life without my oven.

  10. danamccauley says:

    Sounds like oven love is widespread – excellent!

    Jen: I use fresh lasagna noodles most of the time or the old fashioned boil, drain and then use noodles. The drawback I’ve found with the no-boil noodles is that they don’t seem to freeze well and I almost always make extra lasagna so that there is some to freeze for quick meals.

  11. Cheryl A says:

    My oven sucks, but I still use it all the time. About the only weeks it doesn’t get turned on are the few hot weeks in the summer.

  12. Jude says:

    I can’t imagine life without an oven… Or those pyrex loaf pans you have. Baking in glass always works great for me.

  13. danamccauley says:

    I love to bake pies in pyrex pans, too Jude. That way you can see if the crust is brown.

  14. Terry says:

    I use my oven all the time but it would never have occurred to me to make lasagna in a less than huge pan. Is yours in a loaf-type pan? That is so smart,…there are only two of us and that would be a perfect size. Why didn’t I think of that, then we would be having lasagna much more often!!

  15. urbzen says:

    That looks insanely good! I swear I can practically smell it.

    My favorite comfort food is grilled cheese and tomato soup… here’s my “dressed up” recipe, with danish havarti, tomatoes, french bread and roasted tomato and red pepper soup: http://urbzen.com/2008/11/13/comfort-food-for-grownups/

  16. Kevin says:

    That lasagna looks good! I tend to do more cooking in the oven then baking. Lately I have been roasting a lot of butternut squash.

  17. Heather says:

    I love baking, especially sweets, but then I love my sweets. On the savoury side, my favorites are roasted potatoes, and roasted Roma tomatoes too, and lately I’ve been on a quiche kick, I love trying different veggies in them, but my fav is mushrooms. BTW, You all can have the lasagna, not at all something I like much, but I make it to make the rest of the family happy.

  18. […] Dana McCauley served up a winner with her deep dish, gotta-have-it lasagna. […]

Leave a Reply

