Brain food?

dsc006521What’s 11 lbs (5 kg) and black and white and silver all over? Heston Blumenthal’s The Big Fat Duck Cookbook!

Word on the street is that no serious foodie should be without this impressive tome. I’ve just got my hands on a copy. It cost $275! (or $25 per pound if you like to think about things in those terms.) Unfortunately, I’ve no time to sit down and take it all in with my eyes this week. Instead I’m going to keep this book on my head, hoping that the info and images somehow sink into my brain. 

I’ll be back with insightful and critical comments and comparisons to the other new books by kitchen scientists when I get a chance. In the meantime, send me referrals for good chiropractors.  (My neck is really sore for some reason).  Also, if you have any spare hair brushes around, send them over to me, too – now that I can see the back of my head, it’s obvious that I need to take my grooming up a notch!

 

Has anyone else had a chance to crack this baby open? If so, tell us what you think about the book!

4 Responses to Brain food?

  1. Cheryl says:

    Um, at $275? No way. You’ll have to fill us in. And your head doesn’t look bad from the back. Just don’t keep the book up there too long or the top of your pate will go all flat and Herman Munster-like…

  2. danamccauley says:

    Good tip! You should be a stylist.🙂

  3. Amy G says:

    I just read that Heston Blumenthal used to kickbox but that he had to give that up due to back problems……..probably from carrying that book around!

  4. I’m not sure what that book hurts more, your head or your wallet. Fun post, nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

