Inexpensive pork roasts

porkroast

As I’ve been traveling across Canada this week, I’ve had an opportunity to talk to a lot of Canadians and one prevailing theme has emerged: With the economy uncertain, everyone wants tips that will help them keep their grocery budgets in check.

While cutting back can often feel like a hardship, presenting an impressive dinner party or Sunday roast is still possible. Although a prime rib roast can cost well over $10 per portion, pork roasts are much less pricey. The four-bone rack of Canadian pork pictured above was only $8.65 (just over $2 per portion!) and I purchased it at a fancy gourmet grocer! I don’t know exactly what this roast would cost at a national chain or a more mainstream independent store, but I bet it would be less.

I like to glaze pork roasts with gooey mixtures that make a yummy crust. As pictured above, this roast was brushed liberally with a blend of mustard, melted marmalade, minced garlic and chopped fresh rosemary, salt and pepper. (Even better than marmalade is apple jelly, if you have it!)

I cook my pork roast until it registers between 155°F and 160°F when tested with an instant read thermometer. At that temperature the meat is still juicy, tender and a pleasant rosy pink colour.

Do you have a favourite way to prepare roast pork?

8 Responses to Inexpensive pork roasts

  1. Rosa says:

    I love pork meat as it tastes wonderful and is fairly cheap. I rarely buy roast, though (no reason)…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Beth says:

    Dana, I saw you on our local news yesterday talking about shopping tips to save money -they were excellent and the food looked delicious. I’m definitely going to pick up a taco kit and some frozen veggies!

  3. I find pork hard to digest and don’t buy it. I’m saving money on chicken by buying whole breasts, not skinless boneless cuts. I then debone the meat myself and freeze the bones for stock.

  4. Obviously, The Healthy Butcher wasn’t the “fancy gourmet grocer.” Was this from a heirloom breed?

  5. Natashya says:

    Wow! I need to shop with you, I never see deals like that.
    That is a great roast – I like a herb, salt and pepper crust on a roast like that. And lots of good, flavourful sides. Don’t forget the wine!
    What time should I come by? I have a certain secret dessert I could bring…. I just finished it yesterday.
    Cheers!

  6. danamccauley says:

    Peter, I bought this rack at Sue’s Grocery in my neighbourhood. It was just Canadian Pork – nothing bespoke.

    Natashya, you are welcome to come over when I get back from St. John’s (I’m currently fogged in at the airport!) but please, no more of the secret dessert – my pants are bulging as it is. Perhaps a nice ripe pear and a slice of cheese will do?

  7. Amy says:

    I generally prefer to buy bone-in pork to provide more flavour as Ontario pork is so lean these days so this is a great cut for entertaining. I also love the sweet and savoury crust you’ve suggested – especially if you use grainy mustard – it is so yummy with pork.

  8. Kevin says:

    Now that it is getting nice and cool roasts are definitely back on the menu. I am going to have to try doing a pork roast.

Leave a Reply

