A new way to stuff a potato

photoI’m a big fan of baked potatoes of all kinds. In fact, my husband and I have an on-going joke about my baked potato love (he says I’m quirky – can you believe it?).

Being a self-proclaimed baked potato aficionado, I thought I had tried this concept in every one of its possible variations but last week, when I visited Ottawa to appear on two of their local television shows, I met a new, very lovable version of this starchy favourite.

The picture above was taken on my iphone (sorry about the quality – hotel dining rooms aren’t lit for photographic success) last Monday night at Wilfred’s Restaurant in Ottawa’s excellent Fairmont Chateau Laurier hotel. Although the menu specified a russet, the potato I was served (it’s on the left of the plate) was a thinner-skinned, slightly waxier potato. Both of the short ends had been cut off so that it could stand vertically. Then, the potato-y goodness was scooped out through its length, mashed with Balderson cheddar and spooned back into the skin covered shell – nice to look at and nice to eat with the chef’s dark and rich peppercorn sauce.

What’s your favouirte way to eat potatoes? Do you fall apart for mashed or are you a fiend for fries?

15 Responses to A new way to stuff a potato

  1. I love potatoes, too. Call me simple, but my favourite way to eat potatoes is baked. Forget the tin foil, I want the skin crispy. I cut the baked potato in half, scoop out the middle, mash the insides with a fork and eat with copious amounts of butter and pepper. I save the hollowed out skins for last. Of course, more butter and pepper…

    Second place goes to oven roasted potatoes with rosemary while my husband adores scalloped with a crispy crust.

    Could live without mashed or french fries.

  2. Rosa says:

    That sounds delicious! I love anything with potatoes!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. Diva says:

    Oh my, that stuffed potato sounds deliciously decadent, Dana! I’m going to have to try that. On the whole, I’m not potato-crazy – but I do love baked and mashed, especially my own mashed – to which I add a clove a garlic, a bit of onion and a carrot or two. I’m also a sucker for my mom’s hashbrowns, but can live without fries entirely. Weird, but true.

  4. Cheryl says:

    I’m generally not a potato person, but put a baked potato in front of me and force me to load it with sour cream, bacon, and/or cheese and I won’t let you down.

    I never make them at home, however, which is probably why I still fit into my clothes.

  5. Elra says:

    That what I should do next time I make stuffed potatoes. So it will stand pretty and stable.
    My husband and I actually prefer the humble roasted potatoes, but my son love mashed potatoes and stuffed potatoes.
    Cheers,
    Elra

  6. john says:

    Sounds terrific!

    A little recommendation, I found these to be so delicious and useful in my kitchen: http://bajoseasonedsalts.com/

    Cheers.

    John

  7. Cheryl A says:

    Potatoes with Balderson cheddar? Oooh, that sounds so good.

    I love potatoes, but Hubby prefers them mashed more than anything. I think my favourite is roasted, greek style – loaded with lemon and garlic.

  8. gammypie says:

    I’m not much of a baked or mashed potato person. We had them for dinner most nights when I was growing up. I LOVE French fries and a good baked sweet potato with butter, salt and pepper. I’m salivating right now!!

  9. danamccauley says:

    I see we are a crowd of potato lovers today! Thanks for all your comments folks!

    Sadly, here in Edmonton I had bland, almost gluey (but not quite) mashed potatoes last night. Sigh. Hopefully when I get to Calgary in a couple of hours I’ll find a better potato option. After all, when you’re in a meat and potatoes province you can’t help but have high expectations for your spuds!

  10. Heather says:

    I too love potatoes, my year in England was the best as I learned about the “jacket” potato. It’s a toss up which is my favorite topping on a jacket potato, but my two favourites are garlic mushroom sauce, and tuna with corn. Jacket potato: it’s a baked potato filled with whatever, I never would have thought to try tuna in a baked potato, but I’m glad that I did!

  11. Cheryl A says:

    I’m sorry Edmonton disappointed. Have a good time here in Calgary.

  12. Amy says:

    I stuffed a Potato with a curry tuna mixture in my cookbook Fibre Boost, but truthfully my favourite part of the baked potato is the skin… I can’t believe all those people who let that crispy goodness (not to mention the fibre) go to waste!

  13. ohhhhhhhhh, if I could, i would eat fries every time. The real french way.
    We actually dug potatoes on a fram afew months ago, was a LOT of fun! Playing farmers…, here:
    http://www.familyfriendlyfood.com/2008/09/green-blackberries-are-red.html

    nurit

  14. Judie says:

    I would love to have you share this wonderful recipe with my readers:

    http://www.best-potato-recipes.com/share-a-favorite-recipe.html

    All my best
    Judith

Leave a Reply

