Books and beverages

img_22401
While preparing to take off in an airplane bound for St. John’s Wednesday last, I was sitting back, relishing the excellent discovery I’d made in Halifax when I met blogger Ruth Daniels (more on her tomorrow) for coffee at Trident Books and Coffee shop. This little café, located just steps from the train station and the waterfront at the foot of Hollis Street, was a true gem. Fair trade coffee sold by the cup or as roasted or unroasted beans to be taken home; a great selection of used books; a great selection of loose-leaf teas and even yummy muffins. I truly wished they were located in my neighbourhood and not hundreds of miles away in Halifax.

Idly leafing through the latest En Route magazine as the plane taxied to the runway, still thinking about my new favourite coffee and bookshop, I was surprised to see an article about restaurants that combine books, food and drink. The sleuths at Canadian-produced En Route found some great sounding places in Brussels, London, Seattle, Paris and even Beijing but they didn’t mention Trident, a wonderful example of the concept operating right here in their own country.

So, I’m correcting En Route’s oversight by recommending Trident to you here.  The picture I took only shows the bulk coffee room but trust me, the cafe area is charming, inviting and every bit as wonderful as the establishments on En Route’s list.

Other than the Starbucks cafes located in many big box book stores in Canada and the US, do you know of any other restaurants that marry literature with food, alcohol or coffee to create a food service concept?

7 Responses to Books and beverages

  1. Sheryl says:

    Trident is one of Halifax’s hidden gems. I try to always make a point of stopping by for a coffee when I’m home.

  2. danamccauley says:

    I can see why you would Sheryl. It’s a great place!

  3. Natashya says:

    It truly sounds like a hidden gem. I would love it if we had something like that closer. Hubby is a bit of a coffee fan(atic). He loves finding new beans, etc.

  4. Diva says:

    Trident sounds like my kind of place and its good of you to remedy the error of omission like this, Dana. I have two favorite bookstore/coffee/cafes … though both are in New Haven, CT, here in the US. I love the Atticus Bookstore Cafe on Chapel Street. And, a bit further down on Chapel is the Book Trader Cafe – which is a used bookstore full of wonderful finds at heavily discounted prices. Both stores offer a relaxed atmosphere, excellent coffee, pastries, soups and snacks. Here’s a link to the Atticus, if you’re curious:

    http://atticusbookstorecafe.com/

    Its especially nice that they are both independent bookstores – something that’s becoming increasingly rare these days.

  5. Cheryl says:

    Kramerbooks & Afterwards was my favorite such hangout when I lived in Washington, DC. (http://www.kramers.com/). They actually serve real food, not just coffee and tidbits…

  6. Karen says:

    Dana, next time you’re out here you have to take some extra time to come out to Fort Langley, there’s a really wonderful little bookstore/coffee shop there. If you love both books and food, it’s the perfect place to spend time🙂 (Plus some other fabulous shops, and if you like antiques Fort Langley is the best place to shop for them!)

  7. Wish I had heard of Trident before I went to Halifax this summer. Andrew and I love to find great new coffee shops when we travel.

    I’ll make a note to consult you in future before I leave town.

Leave a Reply

