Ruth’s Halifax haunts

img_2247Two or three times a year, I take a whirlwind tour of Canada to appear on morning TV shows and spread the news about the latest food and eating trends. These trips are fast and furious. In fact, since last Tuesday, I’ve been in Ottawa, Halifax, St. John’s, Toronto, Hamilton, Edmonton and Calgary. Needless to say, a schedule like this one leaves little time free for sightseeing and soaking up the local culture.

To compensate for my lack of time to experience the flavours and food finds in these cities, I often fall back on a local expert to let me know what I need to see and where I need to go. If I run out of time (as is often the case) at least I have a great list of reccos to keep for the future and to share with others.

In Halifax my ‘go to it’ girl is Ruth Daniels; who migrated to this coastal city several years ago. Ruth and I met at Trident for a cup of Joe and a chinwag last week. Then I conned her in to driving me to the TV station by saying I wanted to interview her about her recently adopted hometown. Here are her top foodie finds in Halifax. If you need more info than I can provide here with links, drop by AskRuth.com. She’ll be happy to give you more info!

Eating out in Halifax:
Brooklyn Warehouse: great value and great quality at every meal, the burger (and all other menu items) contains mostly local ingredients.
Jane’s on the Common: A welcoming looking eatery. All dishes are served with fresh local vegetables when possible.
Turkish Delight: this eatery uses authentic Turkish ingredients to create memorable meals on Spring Garden Road.
Julien’s Pastries: this Hydrostone market bakery makes great croissants.
Coastal Cafe: owned by an accomplished chef, this eatery features a casual atmosphere and excellent dishes. The curry is apparently worth the trip.

Food Shopping in Halifax:
Although still developing, Ruth says that the range of ethnic focused grocers in Halifax is impressive. Here are a few of her favourite places to shop:
Persian Bazaar
The Italian Gourmet: the artisan sausage is worth the trip alone.
Tiashan Market: for authentic Asian ingredients.
Indian Groceries: the name kind of says it all, right?

9 Responses to Ruth’s Halifax haunts

  1. Jane’s on the Commons?! We ate there when we were in Halifax in May. I loved it.

    Your tour sounds exhausting! I’m not sure your non-Canadian readers realize how many time zones you crossed. Very impressive! Let us know when we can catch you on TV.

  2. Rosa says:

    Wow, how exciting! I’m sure Ruth was very helpful!

    cheers,

    Rosa

  3. Cheryl A says:

    Jane’s is great, we ate there last year. And I used to work for the people who run The Italian Gourmet (or at least the ones who opened it). Way back when…
    And the Trident? My favourite post-market treat in my university days.
    Hey, Ruth forgot about the Market on Saturdays!

  4. I am wondering if you know of where in the Maritimes that I could find smoked clams. ?? It seems to be hard to find, and I’m looking for it for a gift to a friend who had it once and loved it. Thanks for any help, Kathleen
    http://www.digbycounty.blogspot.com

  5. danamccauley says:

    Kathleen, I don’t know but I’ll nudge Ruth and ask her if she does.

    Cheryl – how cool that you used to work at one of Ruth’s favs!

  6. Ruth says:

    Dana, it was excellent getting together and I’m glad I could introduce you to some of my favorite haunts in Halifax. Can’t wait for your next visit.

    Kathleen, I have no idea where to find local smoked clams, but I’m going to find out. Perhaps someone at the Saturday market will tell me. I’ll be sure to post about it once I find some😉

  7. Ruth says:

    Kathleen, thanks again for the question…you had me doing all kinds of Google searches and a very early AM trip to the Halifax Farmers Market to find out the scoop.

    I’m sorry to tell you…but it looks like no one does it any more. I asked the man who really knows everyone to know…Mike of Mike’s Fish Shop, with lots of smoked fishes and Phillip Docker of Shadaph Oysters says if Mike doesn’t know of anyone, well… He also told me that while lots of fish & seafood producers used to smoke their goods (including Shadaph), very few still do it today.

  8. George Cundy says:

    The inspiration:

    “Cheese is the soul of the soil. It is the purest and most romantic link between humans and the earth.” Pierre Androuet.

    The challenge:

    GK Chesterton: “The poets have been mysteriously silent on the subject of cheese.”

    Voila: Tasting to Eternity

    This book is a poetic view of 30 of the best loved French cheeses with an additional two odes to cheese. Recipes, wine pairing, three short stories and an educational section complete the book.

    A unique and amusing Christmas present for all food lovers

    Enjoy

Leave a Reply

