How to control a kitchen fire

NB to Monday’s post:  In what can only be deemed to be uncanny timing, my friend Ann Davidson’s EMT husband Dan Monk sent a video to me yesterday; however, the note advised that I read the following before watching the video:

“This is a dramatic video (30-second, very short) about how to deal with a common kitchen fire…oil in a frying pan. At the Fire Fighting Training school, they would demonstrate this with a deep-fat fryer set on the fire field.

An instructor would don a fire suit and — using an 8-oz. cup at the end of a 10-ft. pole — toss water onto the grease fire. The results got the attention of the students. The water, being heavier than oil, sinks to the bottom where it instantly becomes superheated. The explosive force of the steam blows the burning oil up and out.

On the open field, it became a 30-ft. high fireball that resembled a nuclear blast. Inside the confines of a kitchen, the fireball hits the ceiling and fills the entire room. Also, do not throw sugar or flour on a grease fire. One cup of either creates the explosive force of two sticks of dynamite.

This is a powerful message. Watch the video and don’t forget what you see. Tell your whole family about this video. Or better yet, send this to them.”

Now on to the video Dan sent that offers tips for getting a stovetop fire under control even if you don’t have a fire extinguisher handy:

6 Responses to How to control a kitchen fire

  1. Beth says:

    OMG – that is so scary! I knew to put a lid on a skillet or pot that was a flame but not about using a kitchen towel. I’m going to forward this to my friends.

    Thanks!

  2. Cheryl says:

    Thanks, Dana. I truly had no idea…

  3. danamccauley says:

    I’m starting to feel like Elmer the Safety Elephant. I think I should go eat some cookies so that I can look my part. : )

  4. REALLY important message here. I knew not to throw water but didn’t know about the wet towel. In the past I’ve suffocated the flame with the pot lid and if there wasn’t one, used baking soda.

    Be Elmer. It’s an important message. You could save a life.

  5. Heather says:

    I knew not to use water, but had no idea exactly what would happen. I too have used a lid, and of course turned off the burner. Thanks for the saftey tips, we need to know the reality of the dangers in the kitchen if we’re going to spend time in it.

  6. Portia says:

    Oh wow…that video was intense!! If you are interested in protection against cooking fires, I would recommend StoveTop FireStop. It’s an automatic fire suppressor, about the size of a tuna can that magnetizes underneath the vent hood. Check out their website at http://www.stovetopfirestop.com

Leave a Reply

