Pumpkin flans

pumpkinflanssteam

You could say that I love pumpkin pie but the truth is that I love pumpkin pie filling. In fact, I love it so much that one year when I was baking pumpkin pies for a charity pie auction, I made not just an extra pie for my own family but another so that I could go on an all-day pumpkin pie diet. Honest.

As if that story even needs a punch line, when I told my then 7-year-old son that mommy was on the all pie diet, he rolled his eyes and said “pie-yi yi!” Yeah, he was born snarky and sarcastic.

Anyhow, once I realized that I was actually fonder of pumpkin pie filling than actual pumpkin pie, I decided that there was no need to make pastry. So, now I cook up pumpkin filling in a bain marie so that I can indulge anytime. This technique also works well as a single-serve dessert for the holidays. To glam them up a bit for Christmas dinner, I’d chill these flans down in the refrigerator and then drizzle with dark chocolate before serving them in their ramekins to be eaten with spoons. Festive flavours and make-ahead convenience.

12 Responses to Pumpkin flans

  1. Elra says:

    Sounds delicious, Dana.
    Very nice way to glam up the pumpkin for elegant christmas dessert.
    Cheers,
    Elra

  2. Maybe we should sit next to each other at dinner….my favorite part is the crust! LOL!

  3. For years my mom has been baking pumpkin pie filling in a casserole dish and calling it “pumpkin pudding”. I LOVE the idea of baking them in ramekins to fancy things up. And guess who just got herself new ramekins?

    Like you, I’m all about the filling. Forget the crust. Think of all the calories we’re saving! Hmmm. Wonder if this will work with ALL my pies?

  4. danamccauley says:

    You can certainly do it for all custard pies. I think if you skip the crust on fruit pies you end up with compote and somehow that just seems too healthy.

    Judith, I’ve have dinner with you anytime!

  5. Hélène says:

    I would love that. I don’t need the pastry either. Great idea!

  6. I love make aheads…this looks great!

  7. Natashya says:

    Oh yes, that looks wonderful – hey, maybe even a brulee topping!
    Who needs pastry?

  8. Gaz says:

    I have never heard of a recipe like this before but it sure looks good.
    This weekend I might give it a try out and see how it goes.

  9. Melissa says:

    What a great idea! I don’t usually eat the crust, so this is perfect.

  10. Heather says:

    My mom also used to cook pumpkin pudding for us. I love the filling, and could easily live without the crust. One thing that I believe makes or breaks good pumkin pudding/pie is fresh pumpkin, I HATE the canned stuff!

  11. Goffy says:

    Your blog has many good details ,thanks for this .

  12. The following time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I imply, I do know it was my choice to learn, but I truly thought youd have one thing fascinating to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about one thing that you would repair if you werent too busy in search of attention.

Leave a Reply

