Holiday side dish resolutions

greenbeans

As I have proclaimed perhaps a bit too loudly, I’m no longer a perfectionista. And, to prove it, I’m going to tell you that this Christmas, when my family gathers around my table for turkey, stuffing and Christmas cheer, I’m going to cut myself some slack and keep my side dishes super simple. Honest. On the menu will be green beans and super fluffy mashed potatoes with giblet gravy. That’s it. That’s all. I promise.

I’m a big fan of green beans and I think I make rather good ones. The best green beans are cooked in boiling salted water for 4 to 5 minutes depending on their thickness. Any less time and they are too crunchy. Any more time and they get mushy and stringy. All that’s left is to drain them well and to toss with butter, sea salt and pepper.

What about you? Will your holiday side dishes be elaborate or easy?

8 Responses to Holiday side dish resolutions

  1. Elra says:

    My side dish will always be different each year, sometimes need an elaborate work, sometimes is the easy one, it’s all depend on my main dish. If I am already too exhausted with the main dish, then I’d made an easy side dish. And normally all my sister will help in the kitchen, so it is also much easier too. Have a wonderful season, Dana.
    Cheers,
    Elra

  2. Beth says:

    I haven’t even gotten to the menu planning stage yet – yikes! I really have to get into the Christmas spirit. Help!

  3. Cheryl says:

    I’m definitely the sous chef on Christmas since it’s not my holiday. I’ll do whatever my sister-in-law says and do it happily. I love not being the culinary decisionmaker once a year! That said, the entree is usually rather elaborate and rich, so I’ll probably advocated for sides that are light and simple. Your green beans look refreshing.

  4. Hélène says:

    We don’t usually serve green beans with our Christmas meal. We have Turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy, cooked carrots, stuffing, peas, beets. So many different traditions in families in Canada.

  5. Diva says:

    Oh how I love green beans – prepared exactly as you’ve described, Dana. Yum! Traditionally we do a turkey will all the trimming on Christmas – and when I say “we”, I mean my mother! This year will be a bit different as she’s still recovering from knee replacement surgery. I would have been happy to take care of the turkey myself, but mom opted to go with lasagna instead! I have no idea what we’ll do for sides … salad? I’m A-ok with the choice though – my husband and I spend Christmas Eve with his family and they do a big prime rib dinner, so by Christmas Day I’m usually ready to swear off food.

    Love your stress-free holiday attitude, Dana and hoping some of it will wear off on me.😉

    Happy Holidays to all!

  6. I’m with you on the boiled green beans. They are my favourite. We had them the other night. Yum.

    Christmas is always at my Mom’s. She makes the bird and the desserts, we bring everything else. I usually make a spinach casserole but would be just as happy with a green salad. I’d do beans but they kitchen is a bit chaotic so have learned to arrive with something that’s ready to serve.

  7. I’m busy making all sorts of latkes for Chanukah. Potato latkes are usually the number one choice. I never did try making them with green beans but there’s a thought!

    Season’s Eatings!
    Norene Gilletz
    http://www.gourmania.com

  8. danamccauley says:

    Norene, if anyone can make a green bean latke work – it will be you!

Leave a Reply

