Making cranberry sauce is easy

cranberry20sauceIn addition to green beans, mashed potatoes, turkey, stuffing and giblet gravy, my Christmas table always includes homemade cranberry sauce. I’m always surprised when I hear people say that making cranberry sauce is difficult when in fact, it’s a breeze.

I don’t use a written recipe to make cranberry sauce – I just combine the ingredients from the photo above until I like what’s going on in the pan.

To start, I sauté onions in a bit of veggie oil.

Then I add star anise, minced ginger and the cranberries.

Next I stir in some sugar (usually about  2 cups for about 8 cups of cranberries will do since we don’t like our cranberry sauce super sweet).

Then I add a few splashes of red wine.

Once the mixture is boiling hard, I turn down the heat to medium-low and simmer it until the mixture is thickened and most of the berries have broken.

The last step is to add a spoonful of vanilla.

The entire process takes about 15 minutes. That’s it.

Will you be making or buying cranberry sauce this Christmas?

10 Responses to Making cranberry sauce is easy

  1. Rosa says:

    Cranberries taste soooo good! A wonderful accompaniment!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. We serve an orange cranberry jellied salad, but this sound wonderful. I bought fresh cranberries last week and popped them in the freezer for when I was feeling inspired. This non-recipe is definitely inspiring!

  3. I’m still a fan of the basic whole cranberry, sugar, and water combination. Quick, easy, and inexpensive to make—really nothing more than cranberry preserves.

  4. danamccauley says:

    Peter, that’s what my Grandma always made.yum!

  5. Cakespy says:

    It doesn’t seem too hard…maybe I could handle this one!! Maybe.

  6. danamccauley says:

    Defintely – not maybe!

  7. Puglette says:

    yum, i love cranberry sauce! but…onions? we usually just do the traditional recipe on the package adding some orange juice. it’s so easy!

  8. danamccauley says:

    Yup – onions. I like the savoury notes. To me adding onions helps the cranberry sauce to blend with the other savoury food better.

  9. Heather says:

    I too do the recipe on the package, but substitute orange juice (the fresh squeezed variety) for the water, the orange juice also allows me to cut back on some of the sugar.

  10. Shari says:

    I like your idea of adding star anise and ginger! I’ll have to do that this year.

Leave a Reply

