The burrata trend heats up

burrata

Last holiday season when I wanted a sample of burrata cheese for a trends segment on Canada AM, I was left high and dry. You see, our taping date didn’t coincide with the jet schedule from Apulia, Italy that brought this luxuriously creamy, fresh cheese to Canada only on the second and fourth Friday of each month.

Love for this fresh, creamy-centred cheese and its cousin mozzarella is spreading across the globe in the form of restaurants. In Rome, Obika is the temple where Italian burrata worshippers gather and now they have a North American outlet in NYC, while in LA, Pizzeria Mozza is the place for lovers of this cheese to indulge. Similar concepts have recently opened in Melbourne, Australia, Bathesda, Maryland, Chicago, Illinois and soon in South Beach, Florida.

Thankfully, this holiday season, Canadians won’t have to face the devastating inconvenience of waiting for a plane to arrive or take off so that we can track down a few morsels of  this cheese because there is now a Canadian-made version of Burrata-style cheese that is shipped to specialty stores nationwide every single day!

Although the domestic version isn’t wrapped in a fresh asphodel leaf like its imported Italian cousin pictured above, it is made with fresh buffalo milk mozzarella and filled with warm curds and cream just like the original.

So, if you’re looking for a way to make your holiday cheese tray special, think about serving burrata!

13 Responses to The burrata trend heats up

  1. I first heard of Burrata only recently and didn’t know you could get a Canadian version. I love when you can enjoy international offerings and still eat local.

  2. Rosa says:

    I LOVe this gorgeous cheese! It is quite trendy now. but, here in Switzerland, it is not yet very well-known.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. Elra says:

    Oh I just bought burrata from the “world market” store in our area. I bought it without even thinking what I am going to use it for. It’s still in the refrigerator. It seems starting to get very popular here in California.

  4. danamccauley says:

    Use it quickly Elra – this is one cheese that doesn’t get better with age.

  5. Diva says:

    Mmmm, my love of burrata could be ancestral as my mom’s family is from Apulia. We started seeing it more often around here about 5 years ago and now it seems like its everywhere. Happily, one of the markets near my home sells it daily … though I don’t often indulge. And, I’m happy that you’re now able to have your own domestic version. You’re right, it would make a lovely addition to any cheese tray.

    Merry Christmas!

  6. Natashya says:

    I have heard about this cheese! I can’t wait to try it. Maybe they will have it at the St. Lawrence Market – if I brave my way down again!
    Happy HoHo!

  7. danamccauley says:

    Natashya, Longos carries it and I know you can get it at Alex Farm which, IIRC, has an outlet at St. Lawrence Market.

    Merry Christmas to you, too Diva as well as to everyone else reading.

  8. Cheryl says:

    Dana, I appreciate this reminder about burrata. I had it this summer and went gaga for it, but always forget to look for it when I go to the store. It really is so luxurious and would be perfect this time of year.

  9. Chantalle says:

    Merry Christmas Dana!
    I got my burata from the cheese boutique. Its made just outside of London, Ontario from Ingersoll farms.Its brought into the store twice a week, so its very fresh. Its very good and I look forward to enjoying it tonight.
    Have a Happy Holiday:)
    -Chantalle

  10. Liliana says:

    I have dying to try this cheese and couldn’t find it anywhere. Do you know where in Montreal they would sell it? I tried the Milano store on St. Laurent but at the time they didn’t have any.

    Happy Holidays to you and your family!

  11. danamccauley says:

    Hey Liliana,

    The folks at International Cheese told me that they ship burrata nationally so get in touch with them for a Montreal supplier. Here’s a link to their contact page:

    http://internationalcheese.ca/contact.html

    Enjoy the holidays!

  12. Jude says:

    Burrata is amazing stuff… I actually first heard of it in The Sopranos in some restaurant scene.

  13. danamccauley says:

    Jude, pop by here tomorrow since (coincidentally) I’ll be writing about the Sopranos!

Leave a Reply

