Ham it up for 2009

holiday20ham20platter

My mom often makes a glazed, bone-in ham for New Year’s Day dinner and I think she’s very smart since ham is easy to make (even if you have a hangover), it tastes good hot, cold or at room temperature, and the leftovers offer almost limitless next day dinner and lunch possibilities.

For the uninitiated, buying and preparing a ham can be a little daunting so here’s a bit of intel to help you make your choice:

  • Most bone-in hams are sold with the outer skin trimmed away. If the one you buy has not had the tough skin removed, use a sharp knife to trim this outer skin from the surface of ham before cooking. After removing the skin, cut off most of the fat, leaving about a 1/4 inch (5 mm) layer. Lastly, using a sharp knife, score a criss-cross pattern over the surface of the remaining fat to create diamond shapes. Place the ham with this fat side up in the roasting pan.
  • Spiral cut hams (like the one pictured above) don’t need to be skinned or scored and they are very easy to serve since they are pretty much pre-sliced.
  • Boneless hams, available year-round, are sold whole, as rolled roasts (recognized by their football shape), or as halved or quartered dinner hams. These boneless cuts are easy to carve and provide about four servings per pound.
  • Most hams, bone-in, boneless or spiral cut, have been cooked during processing and are labeled ready-to-serve or fully cooked as a result, glazing and re-heating the ham is all that is necessary. If you buy a fresh ham, treat it like a pork roast.

Here’s one of my favourite ways to make this McCauley family classic:

Teriyaki Glazed Ham

1/2 cup (125 mL) thick teriyaki sauce
1 tbsp (15 mL) finely grated lime zest
2 tbsp (30 mL) fresh lime juice
1 spiral cut smoked ham, about 5 lb (2.5 kg)
1/2 cup (125 mL) honey garlic barbecue sauce
2 tbsp (30 mL) liquid honey
1 tbsp (15 mL) minced fresh ginger
Fresh coriander (optional)

Stir the teriyaki sauce with the lime zest and juice. Reserve 1/4 cup (50 mL) of the mixture. Pour the remaining mixture over the ham, turning to coat evenly. Cover and marinate, turning occasionally, for at least 1 hour but preferably overnight.

Preheat the oven to 332 F (160 C). Place the ham on a rack in a roasting pan and spoon marinating juices over top. Cover and roast for 30 minutes.

Stir the reserved marinade with the barbecue sauce, honey and ginger. Uncover the ham and brush with some of the glaze mixture. Cook, basting every 15 minutes with glaze, for about 1 to hour or until instant read thermometer registers 140 F (60 C) when inserted into the centre of the ham. Garnish with coriander (if using). Makes 10 servings.

What’s on your New Year’s Day menu?

16 Responses to Ham it up for 2009

  1. gammypie says:

    We start off with a cheesy and creamy black eyed pea dip served with Fritos. Dinner is seafood gumbo and Sister Schubert rolls smothered in butter. For dessert, we have either strawberry shortcake or chocolate cake.

  2. Rosa says:

    I don’t know yet… But, that ham looks scrumptious!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. We do bone-in ham for Christmas breakfast. I made a great split pea and ham soup with the leftovers and will be posting the recipe later in the week.

    We don’t have a New Year’s Day menu since we usually finish up all the leftovers or eat the specialty foods we got for Christmas. Maybe that soup will make it on the New Year’s menu?

  4. Diva says:

    For a long time it was also my tradition to make a ham on New Year’s Day – seems like the perfect meal for all the reasons you’ve described. These days, however, I throw a massive open-house party that typically rivals any New Year’s Eve celebrations. Crazy? Yes! But also fun. We do a big buffet of substantial appetizers and a dessert buffet as well. And my husband will make his famous cornmeal blini with caviar to be served with champagne. This year I will also include a huge crock-pot full of chili and we’re going to do a festive champagne punch. No rest for the weary, the cooking, cleaning and planning continue!😉

  5. cheryl says:

    Much like Diva, New Year’s Day is my one blowout party of the year. I tend to go batty with the sweets (this year it’s scones, coffee cakes, homemade Danish and croissants) and then make a bunch of frittatas. I’m thinking of skipping the frittatas this year and opting for waffles instead, but I haven’t fully decided yet. A savory ham sounds like a good complement to all that sugar!

  6. Rebecca says:

    Definitely bookmarking your Teriyaki Glazed Ham. Sounds delicious!

    For New Year’s Day, I’m going to try to recreate (at least in spirit) the New Year’s meal we had last year in Hawaii, the day after our wedding. Cornmeal-crusted fish, black-eyed peas, and greens. And I usually season the cast-iron skillets on New Year’s, so I’m thinking we’ll have some sort of cornbread, too. A Southern/Hawaiian fusion.

  7. danamccauley says:

    Those are some great sounding menus!

    Gammypie – I’m curious about the rolls you mentioned. What are they like?

  8. Natashya says:

    I have been craving ham lately. I want to try one of the spiral hams – I haven’t cooked one yet but I like the thought of nice, thin slices.
    I love to make quiche with leftover ham… yum.
    Once, a few years ago, I found out the hard way that there was a mysterious little net around the ham that I cooked for company… oops!
    Your family glaze sounds perfect! A great foil for all the turkeying.🙂

  9. I don’t have a menu planned – but this looks good – and with teryaki?!?! I bet it’s going to be tasty!

    -DTW
    http://www.everydaycookin.com

  10. Top Chefs says:

    This is first time i came across such recipe, It looks good

    Thanks
    Kate

  11. Heather says:

    It looks like we will be having ham for New Years as well. We’ll probably have it with Scalloped Potatoes, and Scalloped Pineapple (one of my favorite foods ever!). Maybe I’ll find out how my husbands family makes New Years cookies and give them an attempt. I’m really looking forward to a quite day at home for New Years Day and will probably do what ever I can to get as much of the prep work taken care of the day before.

  12. danamccauley says:

    Smart to do the prep ahead Heather. We’ve just secured plans to have friends over for New Year’s Day dinner but I’ve run the gamut on sit down events that include multiple forks and glasses (in ten days I will have hosted 6 events here at home and my cleaning lady is off for two weeks – I am the proud owner of dishpan hands!) so I’m going to do home made pizza, easy hors d’oeuvres and (gasp) a bought dessert from my friend Dean’s bakery.

    Heather, tell me more about this scalloped pineapple – is it creamy?

  13. Kevin says:

    I like hams for all of the leftover. Happy new year!

  14. text says:

    text…

    […]Ham it up for 2009 « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  15. office outlook product key says:

    Thanks for some other informative website. The place else may just I get that type of information written in such a perfect approach? I have a mission that I’m just now working on, and I have been at the look out for such information.

  16. Hey great website! Does running a blog similar to this take a
    large amount of work? I have no understanding of programming however I was hoping to start my own blog soon.
    Anyways, if you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off topic nevertheless I simply needed
    to ask. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

