Gangsta trap?

sopranossoda

What costs $2.99 a bottle, is as sweet as a lollipop and makes me shake my head with wonder? Yup, Sopranos branded soda.

Sure it’s pretty when it catches the light but what marketer thought that anyone would want to drink soft drinks with a TV show logo on them? And, who told them chianti tastes like cream soda?

I’m the first to admit that I’m a pop culture vulture but I don’t need TV and pop singers to clutter up my grocery cart. From Scoobie Doo fruit snacks and Batman Dark Knight lunch boxes, grocery stores are rife with Hollywood influenced branded products.

Cross over branding extends to all facets of retail: P. Diddy has a clothing line, the creator of the Pussy Cat Dolls is hawking Lingerie at La Senza and Paul Newman built a philanthropic empire on salad dressing.

Personally, I’m torn. I own flannel sponge bob pajamas that I love for their cushy comfort and who can fault the Newman family for making the world a better place while selling appealing food products? Still, this nasty tasting soda has annoyed me. What do you think? Is the crossover from pop culture to product branding running amok? Or is it a good thing?

11 Responses to Gangsta trap?

  1. Rosa says:

    It all depends on the brand and the way it’s sold… Sometimes it’s bad, sometimes not.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Heather says:

    Exactly what I was thinking Rosa.

  3. Cheryl says:

    I’ve got to disagree with Rosa and Heather. I think it’s annoying whichever way you slice it. I’m not immune to it (I do read the occasional People magazine), but I find that the commercialization and celebrification of all aspects of our culture has run off the rails. Can’t we appreciate things for their intrinsic value rather than for their corporate tie-ins? If the soda tastes good, awesome. If it’s nasty, I don’t care if it has James Gandolfini’s fictional character’s imprimatur on it.

  4. I’m not big on the commercialization, but it sells. I’ve been known to buy Simpsons items as a joke and might purchase a bottle of this pop for my husband, not because he likes cream soda but for a laugh. I can just hear him doing Tony Soprano impersonations and tossing out all kinds of one-liners.

    But that kind of purchase doesn’t inspire brand loyalty. And I’m not convinced a Hulk Hogan lunch box holds up better than a plain one.

    I’m siding more with Cheryl on this, if she forgives me for my gag gift purchases.

  5. Diva says:

    I’m not into it. Loved the show, but would not buy the soda, or any other product, simply because its a tie-in. I didn’t buy the cookbook either. Like Charmain, I might buy such products as an occasional gag-gift or something, but as a general proposition I’m not much for most “banded” items.

  6. Christine says:

    I really want to know where you found this soda! Not so I can go out and buy it I just want to see it! I would rather buy a Sopranos CD then this soda. But I am sure that there will be people out there getting it. I have to agree with Rosa it depends on the brand and how it is sold.

  7. danamccauley says:

    Christine, I bought it at a local grocery store here in Richmond HIll. It’s bottled in the US though so you should be able to find it around.

    Here’s a link to the product locator page on their website: http://www.drinksopranos.com/locator

    Good luck and thanks for commenting!

  8. Jude says:

    Oh my… The sad thing is, I’d still buy it even with your 2 thumbs down review. Got my curiosity going🙂

  9. Natashya says:

    I guess it depends if I like the product as well as the name they are endorsing.
    I will be mildly offended by those I don’t like but probably sucked in my those I do.
    Let me know when Lost comes out with anything tasty!
    Especially with Sawyer’s face on it……

  10. danamccauley says:

    If only they could bottle Sawyer himself!

  11. Cakespy says:

    After how the series ended, I don’t think I could bring myself to buy the soda, even if the Sopranos is the best representation of my home state–NJ–I’ve ever seen on film.🙂

Leave a Reply

