Pop! goes the New Year

 

    champagne bubbles
    Ready to ring in 2009 with a glass of bubbly?  Good for you!   I love champagne and will definitely be raising a glass myself when the clock strikes twelve. Not only is it a tradition for Martin and I to split a bottle of champagne on New Year’s Eve, but I feel it’s my obligation to the global economy in general and the champagne industry specifically to make sure this year is no exception.    

    Generally the noise and hub-bub of New Years Eve makes conversation starting unnecessary; but, if you find yourself with some silence to fill it might be handy to have some appropriate conversations starters. So, here are 5 facts about champagne you might find useful:

  1. Of the 270 villages in the Champagne region of France, only 17 have achieved the Grand Cru status of 100%.
  2. Dom Peringnon was the 17th Century cellar master of the Abbey of Hautvillers; he’s famous because he developed the art of blending wines to create great tasting champagne.
  3. Some modern champagne bottlers combine as many as 40 different base wines to create their champagne. One reason for all this blending is to create consistent flavour from year to year. 
  4. Vintage champagnes must legally be aged for at least 3 years before being released and are only created in exceptional years.
  5. Rose champagne (one of my favourites, in case you wondered) can be made by adding a bit of red still wine to the cuvee or by macerating red skinned grapes.

Cheers! I hope you enjoy a wonderful start to 2009!

7 Responses to Pop! goes the New Year

  1. Have a Happy New Year, too. I will be sipping champagne but doubt I’ll be able to remember your interesting facts about the bubbly. Hic…

  2. Elra says:

    Just a quick note to wish you a happy new year. I wish you and your love one always in a good health, lot’s of luck and all beautiful things come in year 2009.
    Best wishes,
    Elra

  3. Natashya says:

    I love rose champagne too, yum!
    Have a wonderful New Year, Dana.

  4. Diva says:

    Happy New Year to you and yours, Dana – and your readers as well! May 2009 be delicious in every way!

    I’ll be raising a glass or 3 as well. We’ve got a case of Champagne ready for our New Year’s Day bash … and after seeing this pic I’m wishing I had thought to make some of it Rose. Ah well, next year …

    Cheers!

  5. danamccauley says:

    Thanks for your good wishes everyone! I send them back at you. I’ll be going to the Raptor’s game tonight and then to Pangaea (my hubby’s restaurant) where they have an incredible champagne list – I think 2009 will be off to an excellent start after this evening is through!

  6. Cheryl says:

    Happy new year, Dana! I raise my glass to you!

  7. Shari says:

    I think I need to start a new tradition of splitting a bottle of Champagne every year too! Had my first real “Champagne” in December, and it’s oh so good! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

