Brains need food, too

brain20toniq-1Honest. It’s no longer just about eating a piece of fish once in a while to get some DHA omega 3. No, marketers have decided that we need to smarten up and buy their brain building products. From Nintendo DS games designed to help keep adult minds active and agile, to products like Live Bright snack bars, Rama Idea margarine and Brain Toniq, there are an increasing number of purchase options for would-be geniuses to choose from.

How do you feel about this trend? Do these innovations play on our fears of aging or fill a genuine need?

 

Oh yeah and Brain Toniq inventers:  if you’re reading this, you should know that even as a not so smart person, I know that tonic is not spelled with a ‘q’. So there.

12 Responses to Brains need food, too

  1. Rosa says:

    It’s just a trend! They play on our fears… If there is a need, it is surely not in that way that it’ll be fulfilled…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. What gets me about these kinds of “smart drink” product is they lead people to believe they are a suitable substitution for a healthy diet and exercise.

    While Brain Toniq might be a healthier alternative to Coca Cola, isn’t water or a piece of fruit even better? This clearly plays on fears and allows bad habits to masquerade as virtuous.

    And you’re NOT a “not so smart person”, Dana!

  3. cheryl says:

    Ridiculous. I love how you’re not afraid to say it like it is, and it is lunatic.

  4. Diva says:

    Agreed. Thanks but no thanks – I’ll feed my brain with *actual* nutrients.

  5. Elra says:

    ha…ha…ha… I might totally need this! Kidding!
    It’s a fad! Never been interested in all thing “fad” that currently sprouting like mushrooms. Including this tonic!
    Cheers,
    Elra

  6. danamccauley says:

    Just wait until tomorrow when I will tell you all about Relaxing Drink products hitting the market….one of them has been called the zoloft of the drink industry. Really!

  7. These things make me crazy. If there was such a magic ‘fix’ could you imagine the demand? I don’t even believe in vitamins, so I’m at the far end of the skeptic scale. Give me clean, wholesome food and I’m happy…and a glass of wine!
    Cheers!

  8. danamccauley says:

    You said it Judith! I do take calcium supplements but otherwise, I try to eat well to get my nutrients, too.

  9. Diana says:

    I love how this product looks like a can of Red Bull, at least the size and shape of the packaging; a supposed healthful brain food sharing the guise with a potential brain dulling stimulant.

  10. Ria says:

    Dana, good question about what’s needed and not, in order to stay healthy.

    However, I would guess that 20-40% of your readers are daily using Ritalin or Adderall for attention issues, Prozac, Zoloff or Lexapro for depression, or some other cellular tweaker. If not those, then caffeine in high amounts.

    I’m personally glad to see companies like these coming out with drinks that use well-known nootropics and herbs that seem to have health benefits. It sure beats one more product or beverage that is downright bad for us. I hadn’t heard about this Brain Toniq until you posted it, but their site does list quite a few people who are getting good results from the drink.

    Dia.

    PS: I think it’s spelled inventors, not inventers. And I suspect the Brain Toniq folks were going for an intentional double entendre with the IQ letters.

  11. danamccauley says:

    Thanks for pointing out my spelling mistake. I make them often regrettably.

    Ria, I respect your opinion but I can’t agree with your argument. The drugs you mention are only given to people who have consulted with a doctor and are taken with care. Products like this one add calories to our diets that, in my opinion, should be gleaned from food and there is little guidance provided for people to weigh whether they really need these additives or not.

  12. Ria says:

    True, those drugs are prescribed by doctors. But there is a growing number of people who realize that what “consulted with a doctor” means isn’t all that much. It’s just pushing pharmaceuticals that don’t address the underlying issue; they’re only masking symptoms.

    My point was that there’s some good logic in attempting to find nutrients, herbs, and compounds (on ones own volition, not via a doctor’s consult) that can help with things like concentration, focus, and depression. I agree, if we can get them through our food, that’s much better (certainly less expensive). Still, in country like the US that is up to our ears in deplorable junk food, I applaud all these companies out there consciously trying to make healthy foods and drinks. It’s so needed.

    I’m a horrible speller, too.

Leave a Reply

