Chillaxin’

drank20anti20energyI guess once yoga and massage therapy went mainstream it was just a matter of time before at least some marketers would give up on trying to turn us into a world of Energizer Bunnies. It’s starting to happen as products designed to help us relax, already! become the next new thing.

How do I know? Because instead of press releases for energy drink launches I’m now getting word of relaxation drinks and related products that are coming to market. While Relax gum, Drank Anti-Energy Drink and Nescafe Relax Coffee are already available in some markets, insiders predict more products like these to be launched during 2009. (Edited to add that I just found another example in this category

I don’t know about you, but I can’t see myself buying any of these products. I find a cup of herbal tea and a few minutes of quiet time help me relax. What about you? Will you try these calming options?

10 Responses to Chillaxin’

  1. Seriously, what could actually be in that can?? Air? You open the can and breathe deeply of fresh Himalayan air. Wait…. I could be onto something….

  2. danamccauley says:

    Somewhere, someone is running out to market your idea Judith!

    I’m just so fatigued by new drink concepts – even the gatorade commercials last night during the World Junior Hockey finals annoyed me. I think I’ve become a cranky old lady.

  3. Beth says:

    THe danger with these drinks is that they promote the idea of artificially controlling your mood. Energy drinks pump you up (Pepsi advertised extra caffeine pop last night during the game on my station, too – not just the gatorade) and then when you’re all jittery you drink a relax drink. Bad habit to form if you ask me.

  4. Elra says:

    Nope, not for me, thank you very much. I’ll take camomile please!
    Cheers,
    Elra

  5. cheryl says:

    I understand that in business people have to always find the next big thing. You can’t stick with the status quo — juice, tea, coffee, water — because then someone will come in with something shiny and new and take away your market share.

    But this tendency to introduce ever more ridiculous products has really jumped the shark for me. It’s like when you’re watching a favorite TV series and all of a sudden the characters start doing more and more outrageous things until finally you don’t recognize the show anymore. This drink is ludicrous, top to bottom. Sadly, some people will still buy into the hype, simply because it’s new.

    To them I say, drink up.

  6. Natashya says:

    I have a nice, dark wicker basket with a bunch of different boxes of herbal teas in it.
    I love picking one out and having a cup, reading foodie mags in the kitchen or staying up late talking to my daughter when she is home from university.
    Hot herbal tea puts a hush on the world and on your nerves. I can’t see that coming out of a can.

  7. ash says:

    Nope not for me either! Seems a little ridiculous honestly…

  8. I won’t be buying any of these, but I AM looking forward to what the cast of SNL will do with Relax Gum, Relax Coffee and Anti-Energy drinks.

  9. Diva says:

    I’ll pass on this one as well … in favor of some nice herbal tea … but I must say the name is highly amusing!

  10. Puglette says:

    I won’t be trying any of these products. If you really need to relax, there are more effective ways to do it rather than consuming an expensive drink. The additives in these items are herbal supplements. The same onew you can get in a yummy cup of tea. Do I really need cammomile in my decaf coffee? Or melatonin in my soda? I don’t think so.
    :o)

Leave a Reply

