Cereal killers

kozyshackreadygrains

When corn flakes were launched in 1898 the Kellogg brothers started a vast industry of convenient breakfast foods. Since then cereal trends have gone through various stages — from the sticky and colourful 60’s to the crunchy granola 70’s and the organic 90’s.

The newest innovations in the cereal category are taking convenience to the extreme since they come ready to eat from the package.

Rockit Fuel, which contains 15 whole foods, simply needs cold water to be added to be delicious (so they say). And, if you can settle for less than delicious, you can ditch the water and the spoon and just dump the package into your mouth. Weird but true.

• Slightly more appealing (at least to me) is Ready Grains, the new all-natural range of ready-to-eat cereals from Kozy Shack that are made with low fat milk. Although these cereals can be eaten cold, they can also be heated in the microwave and eaten hot, too. Perfect for a cold winter day in Canada!

Do you have a favourite breakfast cereal? I certainly do. When I have time, steel cut oats are on the menu and when time is shorter, I’m a raisin bran girl.

Note: As you know, I’ve been spending the last week or so talking about some of the emerging food trends that we’ll be seeing develop in 2009. Tomorrow you can see some of these items and a few others on Canada AM. Tune in if you can!

12 Responses to Cereal killers

  1. Natashya says:

    I usually make granola about once a week and we eat it for about half of our breakfasts.
    The only boxed cereals I get nostalgic for once in a while are regular Cheerios, Shredded Wheat and Wheetabix. (Although I rarely buy them)
    Clearly I don’t like anything too alarming in the wee hours!
    I have just bought some steel cut oats at the bulk barn, I have yet to try them though.

  2. danamccauley says:

    In the wintertime there is nothing like steel cut oats to get you ready to go outside into the cold – I think you’ll like them!

  3. Cheryl A says:

    Products like these scare me a bit. Convenience breakfast cereal? It already is a fast food. Are we seriously getting that lazy?
    I’ve tried to reduce the number of boxes coming into our house lately, but I do concede to liking multigrain cheerios with some fresh berries tossed in.
    I love my steel cut oats! Off to make some now because I have the time and the hoar frost makes me want to not leave the house.

  4. CHeryl A, like you, I’m a bit freaked out by Rockit. The Ready Grains appeals to me for the office and for traveling, though.

  5. cheryl says:

    I’m a big fan of homemade granola (just made some yesterday, actually) but my breakfast of choice in the winter is either oatmeal, or shredded wheat with toasted nuts and dried cranberries. I have to admit to buying instant oatmeal for my kids on occasion mostly because I remember really loving the stuff when I was their age.

    I do like Kozy Shack products (especially their rice pudding), but I doubt I’ll switch to this cereal any point soon. It also looks like a waste of packaging.

  6. dinnerwithjulie says:

    Ha – love the name! Remember the Cereal Killers skit on SCTV back in the day?

    I’m always a fan of homemade granola and Raisin Bran – I also love cooked barley along with my steel cut oats. And I’m a fan of Dorset cereals (except for their travel time to get here!) – wonderful packaging and just pure grains, nuts and fruit – no sweeteners or other additives.

  7. Kathryn says:

    I am not a big fan of breakfast, but if I have cereal, the winner, hands down, is cream of wheat.

  8. Shan says:

    I love cereal. Grew up on Super Sugar Crisp (we called them Sugar Bears!). But I can’t handle that sugar load anymore. However, I’ll still eat many boxed cereals. Love Rice Crispies, Corn Flakes, Cheerios, Kix, Raisin Bran. Love all the Kashi boxes that I’ve tried.

    I’ve never had the steel cut oats, simply cause I just don’t usually have the time to make them. I’m much more of a quick oats girl, and that is my regular breakfast cereal. The oatmeal doesn’t go stale, so I don’t have to make sure the bag is completely closed, and it’s portable in a plastic baggy to work and my spoon. I can throw in whatever add ins are around like nuts or cranberries and completely change up the flavor.

    LOVE cereal. Generally low in calories, pretty good for me depending on my choices, can mash it up and throw it into cookies…what’s not to love?

  9. I cannot take the texture of hot cereal. I would rather have apple crisp for breakfast than oatmeal (and do on occasions), but for health reasons eat a crunchy high-fibre cereal with fruit and yogurt.

  10. Heather says:

    I grew up eating Cheerios and Rice Krispies (with peanut butter), and they are still my favs today. As I didn’t grow up with sugar cereals in the house, I kinda over did it for awhile when I first lived on my own. Because of this, we have a rule in our house that sugar cereals are for Special Days only (Sundays are included in this), so once a week I get to indulge in Reese Puffs…Love Them!! Another new fav in our house is Pumkin Flax Plus Granola by Nature’s Path it’s the best granola I’ve ever had, it even tops the granola I made (I’ve only made it once), and as it’s available at Costco, it’s priced right too.

  11. Elra says:

    Mine will be homemade bread and jam, my husband will have muesli, and my son will have anything, including leftover pizza (if we have any)
    Cheers,
    Elra

  12. Seems like just plain marketing to me. No better and probably no worse than lots of other processed foods. On a personal note: a bit scary, I mean how convenient do you need your breakfast to be??

Leave a Reply

