Worth replacing: Julienne peeler

3_juliennepeeler

See that pile of long, crunchy daikon tendrils? It took me only a few minutes to make it using my new Swissmar julienne blade peeler. While a mandoline would have done the job just as easily, they are

1. expensive (even a benriner costs a lot more than this hand held peeler)
2. fear-inducingly sharp
3. a drag to wash and dry

So, unless you plan to julienne shred enough veggies to cater a banquet, this little handheld gadget is the way to go.

By the way, if you’re curious about what I did with all that daikon, I tossed it with black sesame seeds and this dressing to make the base for a Chinese barbecued pork salad. Yum!

13 Responses to Worth replacing: Julienne peeler

  1. Rosa says:

    This peeler is great! Very practical!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. cherie says:

    Thanks for the tip, Dana. I’m buying one of these today as I will need it to make a daikon radish and carrot salad to go with some leftover roast chicken. Yummy Vietnamese tonight!

  3. Heather says:

    I’m thinking that I need to get me one of those too!

  4. This peeler is fantastic. I have to confess that my mandoline is still in its box. It sort of scares me a bit. I think I will stick with the peeler for now!

  5. Elra says:

    OMG, I’ll be looking around for this peeler. You know what I use for the job like this? It’s my old delapidated Julienne Mouli than my French good friend brought it to me years ago. It’s a hand crank, and you really wok your muscle out. I still love it very much, and use it a lot. But this peeler is always good to have if you make let say carrot salad in small quantity, no?
    Cheers,
    Elra

  6. cheryl says:

    I want one! I had no idea such a thing as a julienne peeler existed. Adding it to my list…

    And I just made a note to myself yesterday to try daikon after reading this article in the San Francisco Chronicle: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2009/01/13/FDO1154GQ4.DTL

    Now I have your recipe, too. All I need is the peeler.

  7. danamccauley says:

    Cheryl, I wish you lived around the corner so I could lend you mine!

    Elra, I can just picture you cranking that peeler!

  8. Sue says:

    Hi!
    I just clicked on your blog from the comment section on smitten kitchen where you mentioned a salad you made with clementines, pineapple, and mint. That sounds fantastic. Would you mind sharing at least approximate amounts of what you used? It sounds wonderful and need to make a fruit salad for a function later this month. This sounds a little different in a wonderful way.

  9. danamccauley says:

    Hi Sue,

    Thanks so much for popping by to my blog.

    I’m happy to share my fruit salad recipe (such as it is) with you.

    Basically, I combined equal part chopped clementines and golden pineapple (I’ve made this salad with honey dew and cantaloupe many times and it’s very good that way, too). Sweetened the fruit to taste with liquid honey and then stirred in a little ground cardamom (about 1/4 tsp to 8 cups of fruit) and then added a handful of mint chiffonade. I didn’t have any on hand but adding pomegranate seeds to the mixture would have been both pretty and yummy to the nth degree.

    Have a great day. I hope you’ll pop by my blog again sometime soon. I plan to explore yours more this weekend.

  10. I know what I’ll be buying soon…

    Love my mandolin, but for big jobs like slicing a bag of potatoes. This little gadget looks like it would be ideal for all kinds of salads. Thanks for pointing it out!!

  11. Diva says:

    What a cool little gadget! I’ve neither heard nor seen this before your post, so thanks for the tip. I’m going to be on the lookout for one of these little guys. Cool! And the salad sounds delicious. Love daikon!

  12. Anything to not have to get out the scary mandoline. It’s on the valentine’s day wish list.

  13. ash says:

    i’ve been wanting one of these! i haven’t found one locally but plan on ordering one soon!

Leave a Reply

