Topline Trends Tuesday: Pepper heats up

comet-tail-pepper

As I’ve mentioned recently on television, specialty pepper is HOT in more ways than one.

Above is a picture of Comet Tail peppercorns from Just a Pinch. These peppercorns have a sweet flavour reminiscent of juniper and bay leaves that is fantastic in stews and cabbage dishes. Also new and notable is their smoked tri-colour pepper that is perfect for encrusting a steak before it goes on the grill.

How many kinds of pepper do you have in your spice cupboard? Given that pepper has a healthier halo than salt, will you use more if it than you do specialty salts?

13 Responses to Topline Trends Tuesday: Pepper heats up

  1. cherie says:

    Your blog is the place to turn to for hot food trends, for sure! I have black and white peppercorns, both of which I love. On my last trip to India I brought back some long black peppercorns but never used them. I also just got rid of some pink peppercorns. Do not like them. They look good, but ther’re not my thing.

  2. danamccauley says:

    Hey Cherie, Thanks for your lovely compliment! I do try to pass along good intel.

    My colleague Amy used her long peppercorns in shrimp poaching liquid and said they added a great flavour. I used mine in my soup stock and also liked the depth they added to that concoction.

    Did you know that pink peppercorns are not actually peppercorns? That might be why they didn’t appeal to you. I have a recipe that I make once in a while for a warm chicory salad. I used crushed pink peppercorns, mustard, honey and lemon juice to make the vinaigrette. It turns out quite wonderfully.

  3. big says:

    Hi Cherie, thank for good news.
    I like pepper in thai food very much…

  4. I’m not a big salt fan but love pepper. And yet, I don’t really have all that many varieties — black, long pod and “4 Seasons” ( a mixture of black, white, red and green). Despite my small inventory, I am a bit of a pepper snob. Pepper is always fresh ground. No powdered, sneeze-inducing pepper in my house!

    While I like the look of the Comet Tail, the smoked tri-colour pepper sounds divine. I’ll have to get some.

  5. danamccauley says:

    The smoked is ab-fab! Do try it if you can find it. Should be at Longos and Metro or, contact Mario at Just a Pinch (linked above).

  6. Cheryl A says:

    Hmm, I might have to go shopping. Both Hubby and the Monster like pepper, so it would be fun to do a little taste experimentation. Thanks for the heads-up

  7. Rosa says:

    I have black & white pepper, Szechuan pepper. long pepper and cubeb pepper.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  8. Cheryl says:

    I have a tricolor blend and ground chipotle and cayenne. (Do those count?) The more you talk about long pepper, though, the more I feel I should try it. Bring some to Denver…??

  9. Natashya says:

    I have about 16 specialty salts.. only a few peppers. But part of that is because I haven’t found many. I will be first in line when they are here!
    I love the salt booth at the St. Lawrence Market, when I get that far into the city. Let me know if they open a pepper one, I would make a special trip!

  10. danamccauley says:

    Cheryl, I will absolutely bring you some pepper to Denver. Remind me closer to the day!

  11. Diva says:

    Very interesting. I’ve not heard of these but will look forward to trying them as I adore pepper. I’ve got 3 different kinds of pepper in my cupboard – more if I were to include ground chipotle, cayenne, etc. Not a huge fan of the pink pepper corn, but one of the blends I have includes them and they’re fine mixed with the green, black and white peppercorns. I hope my local specialty shop carries these – I’m intrigued. Thanks again for the wonderful tip, Dana!

  12. Heather says:

    I’m boring…I only have black and tricoloured (I don’t like it much but my husband does). Maybe we’ll try some of the new peppers whenever they make it out here.

  13. Kevin says:

    I have not seen any specialty peppers. They sound nice though. I will have to keep an eye out for some.

Leave a Reply

