Weird things you can do with vodka

skittlesvodkaPhoto credit: Euranna.net

Over the holidays I felt sorry for vodka. People were drinking gin martinis, Manhattans and many other spirit based drinks but vodka bottles, the former darling of the modern bar, were growing dusty on the back shelf. In fact, I made only one batch of pomegranate martinis during the whole festive season.  

Always keen to help a friend (even if it is a distilled spirit) in need, I did a little internet sleuthing and discovered that a strong faction of vodka support remains.

Check out these interesting ways to enjoy vodka. They might come in handy as you couch surf in the next few wintery weeks enjoying the return of Battlestar Galactica, Lost and Damages (oh, how I love a cocktail and a good hour long drama!):

Skittles vodka
Vodka in a tube
Sweet Tea vodka

And, if you want some truly innovative ways to use vodka around the house, consult this list.

What’s your favourite use for vodka? Do you drink it in martinis, infuse it with candies or use it as a foot odour cure like the site above recommends?

Cheers!

22 Responses to Weird things you can do with vodka

  1. Terry says:

    I prefer to drink wine so my favourite thing to do wtih vodka is make Vodka Shrimp — it has some coriander, lots of peas and a bit of cream. And of course the vodka. Very yummy over rice.

  2. Kathryn says:

    Although, I have been known to consume a Bloody Mary or two, my favourtie use of vodka is penne a la vodka.

  3. Rosa says:

    I’m not a Vodka fan, but when it comes to cooking, then it’s ok.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  4. danamccauley says:

    Wow – I didn’t realize there was so much vodka cooking love in the world. I guess since my friends rode the vodka martini train for so long my perspective became skewed.

  5. Natashya says:

    I like the sound of the pomegranate vodka – give me a call when the next batch is up.
    And hooray for the return of Lost! We didn’t answer the phone for the whole 3 hours.

  6. danamccauley says:

    It was a good start to the season wasn’t it Natashya? I’m embarrassingly excited about what will happen on this show!

  7. Diva says:

    Love vodka! I like girly martinis though – pomegranate, Cosmos, that sort of thing. I won’t say no to a well-crafted Bloody Mary or Bloody Bull either. Yum! Oddly enough I don’t much cook with it. The occasional batch of penne a la vodka is about it.

    I’m not a fan of Skittles – but I’m intrigued by that Skittles Vodka – so pretty!

  8. Call me weird, but my favourite use for vodka is making homemade vanilla extract.

    I’m not a big cocktail fan. I’d take red wine over a Bloody Mary any day, but when I drink vodka I like a Greyhound (vodka and grapefruit juice) because it’s so refreshing.

  9. cheryl says:

    My best friend growing up was a big fan of Skittles. Had she known about this vodka possibility our school days would have taken on another dimension entirely.

  10. Once you do a side by side tasting of a cosmo, one made with gin, one made with vodka, I betcha don’t go back to vodka. Of course we only do these tests in the name of science and knowledge!

    Vodka is good for macerating all kinds of fruits and then you can put the fruit into a proper cocktail. :–)

  11. Cheryl A says:

    Oh, it’s all about a Grey Goose martini, extra extra dry.

  12. danamccauley says:

    Judith, on behalf of the rest of us, I thank your for your selflessness!

  13. Jamie says:

    Dana…nice post! Years ago, when I was in undergrad, someone brought a very cheap bottle of Vodka to a party my roommate and I threw. Hardly anyone touched it, so it was left in my room. I couldn’t let it go to waste so I used to take a quick shot before heading off to my International Economics class. Trust me….it helped!

  14. danamccauley says:

    Jamie you are my kind of girl – I bet we would have been in the same crowd if we’d gone to University together!

  15. Martin Kouprie says:

    There are so many vodkas out there that choosing a favorite relies on trial and error. Do I choose a distilled potato vodka over one distilled with grain? Ultimately the rule of thumb is the drink the best stuff neat, the less expensive use as a mixer. Now for the really cheep stuff, windshield de-icer in the coldest days of winter or for removing sap in the summer from my car.

  16. Martin Kouprie says:

    That’s cheap not cheep. I ghot tho lay offf the struff vhen Im typing.

  17. danamccauley says:

    Oh, Martin -I do love you so!

  18. cherie says:

    Love vodka. In cocktails mostly. Also great for homemade cleaning products and room deodorizers.

  19. danamccauley says:

    Room deodorizers – really? How does that work?

  20. cherie says:

    1/2 vodka + 1/2 cup filtered water +15 drops essential oil of your choice. Et voila! You have a fresh smelling room without all those nasty chemicals.

  21. […] Weird things you can do with vodka « Dana McCauley’s food blog […]

Leave a Reply

