Topline Trends Tuesdays: Goat Milk

laloosgoatmilkicecream1

Recently my trend tracker’s radar screen has picked up buzz about not only goat milk but also products made with goat milk. Turns out I’m not the only one picking up this static; this article highlights the trend, too.

If you’re wondering what’s enticing consumers to give goat milk a try, you should know that many people who are sensitive to cow milk can drink goat milk with no ill effect since the fatty acid and protein structure of goat milk is different than cow milk, making it easier to digest. Likewise, compared to cow milk, goat milk is higher in calcium and some other nutrients, too.

I haven’t tried goat milk or any products or recipes made with it myself but, I’m very curious about it. In fact, I really want to try these LaLoo ice creams.

Have any of you tried goat milk or goat milk products?  If so, are they very different in taste and texture to cow milk versions?

17 Responses to Topline Trends Tuesdays: Goat Milk

  1. Rosa says:

    I love goat’s milk ice cream and find goat’s milk delicious. The milk isn’t all that different from cow’s milk. It has a neutral flavour…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. danamccauley says:

    Rosa, is it popular to drink goat’s milk in Switzerland or are you just ahead of the curve?

  3. I like goat milk cheese, but, unlike Rosa, have not found it to be comparable to cow’s milk in taste. I tried it once and it was bitter and barny-tasting. Perhaps it was the time of year I tried it since their diet has a direct effect on the taste? I’ve been leery to try it again despite the health benefits.

    Strangely enough, I find organic cow’s milk easier to digest than standard milk and have switched to that for my morning latte.

  4. Rebecca says:

    I’m looking forward to reading the comments on this one. Dr. Oz was on “Oprah” singing the praises of goat’s milk, but I haven’t taken the plunge yet.

  5. danamccauley says:

    Rebecca, perhaps we should both take the plunge on the same day and blog about our experience – it would be fun to see how differently (or similarly) we respond to goat milk.

  6. Rebecca says:

    I’m game. That would give me the push I need to try it and learn more about it. Name your day, Sister.

  7. adrian says:

    I had goat-milk butter at the new AGO restaurant at the weekend. They brought if with a basket of (excellent) bread and a small sea-shell of salt. Pretty fab, actually. And goats milk is a very big deal in Ireland, certainly in the rural areas.

  8. Elra says:

    I see this starting to pop out in our local super market, goat milk and goat milk ice cream. I haven’t tried both of them, yet. The only goat thing that I tried (beside their meat) is goat cheese.
    Cheers,
    Elra

  9. Cheryl says:

    Charmian’s descriptive “barny-tasting” has me worried about the milk plain, but I’m assuming that the double chocolate ice cream pictured above has to be good. Anything with double chocolate — whether made with cow milk, goat milk, or yak milk — sounds worth a try.

  10. danamccauley says:

    Rebecca, I’ll email you!

    Adrian, I love goat butter! I wrote about it awhile ago: https://danamccauley.wordpress.com/?s=goat+butter I’m excited to try Anne’s new restaurant. I always have admired her cooking!

    Likewise, I’ve always loved goat cheese so I’m cautiously optimistic about goat milk.

    Cheryl, good point. Even laxative comes in chocolate flavour. That must tell us something about its magic powers.

  11. Chuck says:

    I really like goats milk feta cheese better than cows milk. When I was younger I remember my grandma always had goats milk at her house. Mind you they had a few goats🙂 As a kid I hated it.

  12. Cheryl A says:

    Our daughter drinks goat milk instead of cow. It really helps keep her eczema in check. We’ve been disappointed with the yoghurt and most of the hard cheeses we’ve found though. It surprises me that we can’t get a good yoghurt.

  13. […] couple of weeks ago, I wrote here about how consumers are choosing goat milk much more often. Realizing I had no first hand knowledge of goat milk beyond things you could make […]

  14. Tracy D says:

    Goat milk has a rich, creamy, hazelnut taste. The barnyard taste people describe only comes from inadequate herd management. Dana, if you are interested in trying whole goat milk or low fat, I would be more than happy to send it to you.

  15. Tracy says:

    Yes. Anything ‘goat’ right now is very popular. The sweet taste and medical benefits make goat products worth the money….or you can make your own ice cream, yogurt, or chevre from powdered or fresh goat milk on the market.

  16. […] Tangy: Goat milk gelato and goat milk ice cream are certainly gourmet faves right now, as are buttermilk, sour cream and crème fraiche-based ice […]

Leave a Reply

