Foodbuzz feedback

foodbuzz_logo_sm
This supplemental post is plea to all my readers – especially the fellow bloggers and food professionals among you. I’m working on a presentation about the various internet related opportunities there are for food professionals to promote themselves and network.

While I joined foodieblogroll a while ago, I didn’t really explore the foodbuzz aspect of that site until recently. To be honest, until the panel moderator pointed out to me that it wasn’t in my presentation but should be, I hadn’t realized that there was more to the Foodie Blog Roll than just the stuff you see popping up in the sidebar below.

Anyhow, now that I’ve registered and made a profile, I’m still not sure what to do or how it all works. Unlike facebook, where you can find your friends easily, FoodBuzz seems a little less straight forward.

So, my questions are: do any of you use foodbuzz? If so, why? Is it strictly for fun or do you find it a good place to learn, make connections, or find info? Likewise, do you twitter, facebook or use linkedin? This inquiring mind wants to know.

16 Responses to Foodbuzz feedback

  1. ash says:

    foodbuzz is actually not part of the foodie blogroll but a sponsor i believe. foodbuzz is its own business that is a networking site for foodies essentially. check this link out:
    http://www.foodbuzz.com/pages/how_it_works

  2. danamccauley says:

    Thanks Ash. I did use that page to get my profile started. I’m surprised to hear the two sites aren’t tightly intertwined. They have such a similar look.

  3. Kitt says:

    I use FB to stay in touch with friends but I can barely keep up with reading blogs I like. No way am I going to add more networking!

    It would be different if I were in it for business.

  4. Kitt says:

    Oh, I should clarify: FB=Facebook.

  5. I just joined FoodBuzz and have discovered several great blogs through it.

    I am on Facebook and LinkedIn and Twitter… They all serve different purposes. Too complex to explain here.

  6. danamccauley says:

    Char, I might call you to ask you to elaborate. Let me know if that’s okay.

  7. cheryl says:

    Dana, I’m really glad you posted this question. I have the Foodie Blogroll widget on my blog, but I don’t see how it has influenced my traffic. I’m not officially signed up with Food Buzz either, but somehow they have a page on me anyway.

    I do Facebook and Linked In, but haven’t yet done Twitter. I think it’s only a matter of time, though. Charmian knows a lot about Twitter!

  8. Hélène says:

    I like Twitter to read what everyone has to say but I don’t get many replies.

    Foodbuzz I use to promote my blog, to discover new blogs.

    Facebook I find it’s hard to find foodies that way. I prefer Foodbuzz right now.

    For Foodie Blogroll it does not seem to bring traffic to my blog.

  9. Sheryl says:

    Like other commenters, Foodie Blogroll hasn’t made any noticeable difference in hits for me.

    I just set up accounts for Save Your Fork and TasteTO on Foodbuzz (mostly for the advertising for TasteTO), and while my accounts are getting lots of traffic and lots of friend requests, I’m not actually seeing that translate to hits for either site.

    Foodbuzz seems to be set up oddly and I haven’t really had time to explore and figure out how it works. I’m sort of adding friend requests just out of politeness and I haven’t really gone and looked at the blogs of any of the people I’ve added. Will get around to that eventually, I suppose. A lot of the other features seem superfluous.

    We use Facebook for TasteTO, but don’t really update it that often (again, it’s a time issue), and we’ve had a number of people request to follow us on Twitter, but as you may have seen on Leaves and Petals, I’m pretty anti-Twitter and can’t really see the point. I’m still not sure what we’d Twit (Tweet? Twat?) about, and I’m hesitant to offer too much personal information due to a couple of individuals we’ve pegged as creepy stalkers.

  10. Comestiblog says:

    To answer one of your questions indirectly: I found your blog through FoodBuzz.

  11. danamccauley says:

    Comestiblog – thanks for your note. That’s great to hear!

    Sheryl, your comment voices my thoughts exactly which is rather comforting to me since you have a more studied and experienced perspective on all this stuff than I do.

    I’m going give Foodbuzz an honest try so that I can speak about it fairly when I do my IACP seminar later this spring but, so far, I’ve found it thorny to navigate. I can’t even seem to reply to messages that have been sent to me!

    Have a great weekend everyone!

  12. Diva says:

    I’m late to the game on this, but will offer my two cents. I’ve been on Foodbuzz since last summer and have found some wonderful blogs (and blogging friends) through browsing there. Though I haven’t really figured it all out and don’t spend a lot of time on the site, its been a good resource over all. Being a FB featured publisher has some nice perqs … they frequently send us cool stuff (aprons, business cards, cookware, etc.) and I’ve attended some great foodie events courtesy of FB.

    I’m also on Facebook and Linkedin and I agree that Foodbuzz is less straight-forward. I find Facebook easier to use and am on there more frequently than I am FoodB. I’ve so far resisted the urge to Twitter … though probably not for long. I expect to be tweeting soon. LOL

    In terms of traffic, neither Foodbuzz nor The Foodie BlogRoll has added much to my blog as far as I can tell.

    I’ll be interested to read more of your thoughts on it after you’ve had a chance to play around with it and have finished preparing your presentation.

  13. Diana says:

    I really enjoy foodbuzz. I use it to “meet” other foodies, and it’s great to have a ton of people with food blogs located in one place. I use the search feature a lot to get ideas for recipes or using a unique ingredient. I love being able to select foodies from a certain country and look at their blogs to get recipes. That’s where I’ve found most of my food blogs I like to follow. It’s also a great place to find contests, and I get to sample food items and write reviews. I learn a lot about new things and actually have learned how to buy/eat more vegetarian and organic through other members of Foodbuzz. It’s a great gathering place for foodies.

    I just use Facebook for personal purposes, and I don’t Twitter. Blogging isn’t a job (I wish!) so I try to be very careful to have boundaries with it. I don’t want my hobbies having priority over my time when there are other things that I hold in higher value. I do submit things to tastespotting and have a few entries there.

  14. Andrea says:

    I just signed up for FoodBuzz. I figure that I’ll play with it for awhile to see what it’s about. I’m reluctant to publicize my website/blog too much until I’ve developed it to the extent that I want to. For now, it’s just a blog with updates 2-3x/week with little original content.

    I did set up a second Twitter account for my “foodie” persona. My regular Twitter account, while highly used, is protected to that I have to approve followers. There’s some crossover between the two in terms of who I follow and sometimes I cross-tweet but my food-related Twitter account mostly follows food tweeters while my regular account is friends, colleagues, news, politicians, celebrities and pretty much everyone else. Twitter is great for getting breaking news updates and sharing news even if it’s not used for personal status updates.

    And Sheryl: It’s “tweet”. “Twat” is something else entirely. You know you’ve made it when you get creepy stalkers.

  15. Psychgrad says:

    I have an account on Foodbuzz. I get the general idea and try to update it once in a while. But, I don’t find it to be very user-friendly. Plus, I find a lot of foodblogging forums/networks get oversaturated quickly and it’s impossible to keep up. I’m a member of a couple of other forums, but lose interest when it takes on a money-making tone.

    I think if you’re willing to devote the time, it can draw user traffic. But, it’s (that goes for pretty much any site) not something that you can just sign up for and wait for the traffic to roll in. It gives you a way to connect with people. But you still have to put the effort in to make the connections.

  16. Charissa says:

    I just became a member of FoodBuzz, and I love meeting other bloggers. I go to their blogs to see what kind of blog they have. Looking at what other bloggers do gives me ideas of what I want my blog to be like or not to be like…and it’s cool to be in a food “community” where everyone has similar passions.

Leave a Reply

