No more sniff, sniff, hope for the best

servingcheese

I’m not big on cutesy clutter like wine charms and corncob holders but I really like these reusable ceramic cheese signs. We love cheese and are very adventurous but invariably, there is a guest who is afraid of bold cheeses or, almost as often, once the wine starts flowing, I forget the proper name for a particularly new or interesting cheese.

I bought a set of four or five a couple of years ago (I saw the same package at Kitchen Stuff Plus recently for about $10) and use them when we have parties to identify each item on the cheese board. The set comes with a dry erase marker so that you can reuse the signs easily. I just pop them in the cutlery holder and run them through the dishwasher for clean up.

Recently I realized that I could use these little signs to identify items on a buffet table and that they’d be especially useful for calling out dishes that contain allergens like nuts or eggs that my guests might need to avoid.

5 Responses to No more sniff, sniff, hope for the best

  1. cheryl says:

    I need these, and I need them tomorrow! My husband and I just ordered a bunch of cheese from a college friend who works as a cheesemaker, and it’s all sitting in my fridge.

    These would be very handy, but only if I had them. *Sigh.*

  2. Diva says:

    Mark me down as a fan of both cheese and these little markers. We have a set too. They’re wonderful!

  3. Elra says:

    Good idea. I might have to buy it too.
    Cheers,
    Elra

  4. I could use a set of these! In fact, I’m making a trip to Kitchen Stuff Plus next week. Anyone want to lay bets on how much I spend “just looking”?

  5. Jacki says:

    I have been making cheese like crazy lately. Those little signs would work really great in a few months after the cheeses are aged and we start serving them.

    I hear you’re a fan of raw milk. If you’re ever in Vermont and are in the neighborhood, stop by our farm for some fresh Jersey milk. http://www.falkenburyfarm.com

Leave a Reply

