Discovering goat milk

goatmilk

A couple of weeks ago, I wrote here about how consumers are choosing goat milk much more often. Realizing I had no first hand knowledge of goat milk beyond things you could make with them such as chèvre and goat butter (both things I love!), I decided to get better informed.

Trying goat milk for the first time is kinda like getting a tattoo: it’s easier if you do it with a friend. So, as I set out to explore my goat milk curiosities, I peer pressured Rebecca, the blogger behind much admired Ezra Pound Cake (how can’t you love this blog just for its name alone!) to join me. Check out her blog today to discover how she enjoyed our mutual virgin goat milk experience. And, read on for my own story.

As you can tell from the picture above, I decided to go big or go home. I purchased all of the goat milk products at my local Planet Organic store. Besides trying them as-is from the package, I also used the liquid products to make butterscotch pudding (something I do pretty much every weekend at Oliver’s request) and in a cup of coffee. Here are my tasting notes:

Goat’s Milk Strawberry Ice Cream (sweetened with honey): This ice cream is incredibly light textured and so wonderfully delicious. The finish has just enough of the same tang that makes chèvre so appealing to cut the sweetness of the honey and make each bite an adventure. While I doubt kids will like this ice cream, it’s a wonderful adult treat. I can see it complimenting rhubarb pie or crisp perfectly.

2% Goat Milk: consumed cold, this milk is just slightly different from cow’s milk. I can see people who like cow’s milk but can’t digest it finding this milk a very good substitute for their cereal and cold milk drinking pleasure. In a latte, however, it didn’t work as well since the stronger end note flavours were greatly accentuated when the milk was heated.

Organic Whole Goat Milk: I really liked this rich and creamy milk cold and can see it being interchangeable with homogenized cow’s milk for use cold. I used this milk to make butterscotch pudding and I have to say, it wasn’t entirely successful. As the pudding cooked, the heady aroma of stewed mutton was rank in my kitchen. Gross when mingled with butterscotch! And, when the pudding was cooled, the same slight acidic goatiness that worked for the strawberry ice cream was in the finish of the pudding. The goat milk was simply not interchangeable with the cow’s milk in this instance.

What I learned: goat milk is pretty delicious cold but, if you’re going to use it in baking stick to flavour profiles that have an acidic finish such as berries, chocolate, apples, citrus and the like.

40 Responses to Discovering goat milk

  1. Beth says:

    Hmm…that ice cream sounds intriguing. I might have to pick some up.

  2. Interesting to hear about the difference between goat’s milk hot and cold. I tried it once in my coffee — took one sip and threw it out. I’ll have to revisit goat as a dairy option, but think I’ll ease back in with ice cream.

  3. Diva says:

    Wow, that was an interesting read. I’m not a milk drinker, so I don’t think I’ll be downing a glass of this anytime soon. The ice cream, however, intrigues me. I’m going to look for some.

  4. Cheryl says:

    “As the pudding cooked, the heady aroma of stewed mutton was rank in my kitchen.” This probably wasn’t funny for you, but it sure was funny for me.

    I’m sticking with cow’s milk, thank you very much!

  5. […] deficiencies. So, when Dana, the chef/recipe writer/blogger/cookbook author/food consultant behind Dana McCauley’s food blog, suggested that we try goat’s milk together, I was game. (Check out her blog to read about […]

  6. danamccauley says:

    Cheryl, glad you got a laugh -although the smell was gross when it was in the air, I smiled when I proof read my words, too!

  7. Elra says:

    What a coincidence, I just bought goat milk for my son to try. he said it wasn’t bad, it’s a bit goat(ie). He prefer regular milk. Oh well!

    Goat milk ice cream, I’d like to try that for sure.
    Cheers,
    Elra

  8. Barbara says:

    Just want you to know that after hearing Dr. Oz extoll the virtues of goats milk. I bought Meyenburg(?)
    milk. I think it is so delicious. The fact that you have to shake it up it gets thick and creamy with that wonderful faint goat cheese (or lamb chop) aftertaste. Now I am going to the store to buy more because all this talking is making me want some.

  9. Kevin says:

    I am going to have to see if I can find some goat milk products to try.

  10. Cheryl A says:

    Oh, I should have warned you about the cooking of goat’s milk. Our Monster drinks whole goat milk exclusively (cow milk gives her exzema). I tried making pudding too. Nasty, nasty, evil, made us all want to barf before we even tried it. I can’t drink her milk, but that is more because I drink Skim and whole milk is like drinking cream. Our supplier makes yoghurt, but I find it too runny and a little bit smelly.

    One interesting thing we learned from both a naturopath and a traditional chinese medicine doctor is that goat milk or almond (if you can do nuts) are the better options if you cannot have cow milk, over soy. Soy and Cow are both similar in protein structure and in TCM are both “wet”. So people shouldn’t automatically switch to soy if they have problems with cow – beyond any other issues about soy in our diets.

  11. Sue Dodd says:

    I have just been given straight goats milk, like from the goat over the road. 2 Litres, I dont know what to do with it first of all as my lovely mallorcean neighbour doesn’t speak english and I can quite understand what he is saying. Help!

  12. joyce d says:

    I feed my 17month old toddler almost 6 month with goat milk and I live in California .I just can’t find any place sale organic goat milk n reg. goat milk it only come in pint as for size. Can you help me where ca I get organic n bigger size for goat milk thanks

  13. Kim says:

    Yesterday I attempted to make a pumpkin pie with evaporated goat’s milk. I probably should have stopped upon opening the can, but as this was and experiment, I continued through to the end to foul results. I’m wondering if perhaps instead of using the evaporated goat milk as an exact exchange for the cow version, I should have diluted it. I see you said you wanted to use goat milk in certain sorts of recipes. Do you have any advice for me in this case?

    • danamccauley says:

      Yea, my advice is to avoid any recipes where the goat milk is heated. Yuck! I made butterscotch pudding and it was disgusting. Ice cream turned out better but it’s cold.

      Sorry about your pie. To be honest, I haven’t seen evaporated goat milk in stores. Do you mind me asking where you got it?

  14. Kim says:

    Thank you for your response. I got the milk at our grocery store – Food4less (which is owned by Baker’s here) in Nebraska. It was next to the evaporated cow milk in the baking aisle.

  15. I’m so glad I stumbled into your blog! No one in our family can have cow’s milk and my 2 yr old can have soy and rice milk but my husband and I can’t. This seems to leave goats milk as one of the last options. After trying to use it for potato soup and having it sour I realized I need some help in figuring out how and when to use goat milk. I’ll be following this post for sure. Thank you.

  16. Audreygilbreath says:

    I cook with Meyenburg goat milk more and more. I find that for milk based pasta sauces it is wonderful. I have not yet run into the ‘stinky’ issues discribed in the above thread. Though I did try to bake with it today and the cake literally bubbled/boiled over the pan while cooking, but even though the cake looked ugly it was delicious (brown velvet cake). I have bought the evaporated milk, but haven’t used it yet. I was going to see if I could make whipped cream out of it.. or use it in dessert reciepes that call for heavy cream

  17. Loyce says:

    When I was a new born baby way back when, I couldn’t digest the formula which was available so an old woman told my grandmother that I needed goat’s milk. Back then you could buy goats milk in any grocery store, so she bought a bottle and sure enough I could keep it down. My grandmother said in no time I started gaining weight and got some color to my cheeks. I don’t drink any kind of milk now, but sure do love to make goat’s milk and honey soap.

  18. Ressa says:

    Wow, this article and the comments have been very useful to me! I am milking 3 goats and am new to it all. In the process of trying different things with the milk and was glad to see that heating caused the goaty taste to come out. I was wondering what was going on!!!!! I came across this by googling for a goat milk coffee creamer recipe but I see that would be a waste of time for me. Thanks!!!!!

  19. Joelle says:

    Goat’s milk is the “universal donor,” like type O blood. All (or almost all) of the proteins are digestible by most species – including people! Cow milk is designed to be digested by baby cows, and it’s only luck that a lot of humans have the right enzymes to get it down.

    That being said, any newborn mammals you happen to be fostering, this is the right thing to bottle feed them – kittens, puppies, raccoons…whatever.

    I’m still experimenting with the stuff – and only limited used, since I can’t seem to get it skimmed or partially skimmed.

    But it made up great in Annie’s Organic Shells and White Cheddar – that little bit of tang gave it great depth of flavor!

  20. Karen says:

    HOLY COW! I can NOT find Organic evaporated cow’s milk. I purchased a can of evaporated goat’s milk to use in crenshaw squash pie. Glad I read this blog before using it. I thought then I would use it in my oyster stew, add it along w/organic 1/2 and 1/2. After reading this blog and how it’s just nasty heated I’ve dropped evaporated anything from the recipe now. I’m sure it will taste just fine without. I did read http://www.shesimmers.com “how to make organic evaporated milk from 2%” seems like work to me would rather open a can! PLEASE someone PLEASE make canned organic evaporated milk!!!

  21. ARJETT says:

    If you can try goat milk kefir, it’s so thick and creamy. I do a semi-fast with it and just rinse the glass with goat milk.

  22. We’ve been using exclusively goat’s milk since our youngest was born and was diagnosed with severe cow’s milk intolerance. I found the taste odd at first, but a year and a half later, I find my occasional tastes of cow’s milk to be weird. I use it in coffee, soup, sugar pie, homemade yogurt, everything.

  23. Judith says:

    I am new to goat’s milk and have no experience with the nasty odor however I will be watching for it. Love the yogurt so am sure I will like ice cream….have used goat’s milk in soup and pudding… am particular about smells…especially with food.

  24. Gabrielle says:

    I haven’t read through all the comments – but something to note – my son appears to have developed a cow dairy allergy. When we spoke to our medical practitioner, she shared that we should try goat’s milk products. He is fine with this. No more stomach cramps, diarrhea, or vomiting. I have used goat’s yogurt in baking with success. I’ve had in my own coffee & with cereal and not notice any difference from the cow’s milk. The cheddar & mozzarella goat’s cheese don’t really taste the same – but my child with the (cow) dairy allergy doesn’t appear to have a problem with them.

    • Gabrielle says:

      Sorry – missed some words – I’ve had goat’s milk in my own coffee…
      I just saw Canadian Doomer’s post on cow’s milk intolerance. So, the word is getting out there. Odd how long it takes to find these things out. I think the main reason our medical practitioner knew to recommend goat’s milk was simply because her own child has a cow’s milk allergy. I have another child with a different food allergy & have done a lot of reading about the topic, however had never heard about goat’s milk as an alternative. So – get the word out!! 🙂

  25. baby food recipes…

    […]Discovering goat milk « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  26. Frankie Dunham says:

    On the whole commercially available goat milk products are way too “goaty.” RAw milk and raw milk products from healthy animals who have their specific dietary needs met don’t produce that sort of end note if everything is handled properly. I’ll never touch a drop of commercial goat milk, but we don’t use anything but milk from our own goats even in cooked products.

    • Scott Murray says:

      Frankie

      You are exactly right I too raise and milk my own goats.
      My raw milk and my chevre have no “goaty “or mutton flavor at all.

  27. nubians says:

    nubians…

    […]Discovering goat milk « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  28. Arzneimittel says:

    Arzneimittel…

    […]Discovering goat milk « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  29. new candles says:

    new candles…

    […]Discovering goat milk « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  30. Leberkrebs Therapie…

    […]Discovering goat milk « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  31. Lamar Stiers says:

    AmericanHealthJournal is seeking partnerships with website owners in the medicine genre. AmericanHealthJournal is a health site which contains over 3000 of high quality health care videos. We can offer content exchanges, link exchanges, and exposure to your website. Contact us at our contact page on our site.

  32. how to paint says:

    I’ve had all sorts of goat milk products. All of them are delicious. I started to drink goat’s milk when I asked God what type of milk did they drink in biblical times. Proverbs says, “I blessed you with enough goat’s milk to feed your household.” So I asked Him to bless me with liking it and I DID! As for the goat taste, I never experienced that. A friend complained about that but I told her it was in her head. You’re not eating the meat of the goat, but it’s milk. Anyway, after she prayed, SHE LOVES IT! No more goaty taste. She sweetens with honey. I use blackstrap molasses and honey and it tastes like “cafe con leche”. I love shaking the carton and getting the milk to froth and eat it like ice cream float. I plan to use for pumpkin pie instead of the evaporated milk. Anyone have experience with that?

  33. dried chilli says:

    Over the years, cupcakes have become a popular item to serve for almost every occasion.
    Begin by preparing banana cake mix according to label directions,
    and fold in one cup of crisp crumbled bacon. Top
    cupcakes with severed body parts, ghoulish eyeballs, or creepy, crawly spiders.

  34. certainly like your website however you need to take a look at
    the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very
    troublesome to tell the truth then again I will definitely come back again.

Leave a Reply

