Valentine’s Day musings

valentine

With Valentine’s Day just hours away, there are likely people reading this post who are wondering how to commemorate this marketer-made occasion. While I personally would love to get flowers (although not roses – maybe a tightly bound bouquet like the stunning arrangements at Joel Robouchon – you can see a picture of them in my facebook group photo album) from my honey, there are a lot of people who would rather have chocolates.

In fact, according to a poll conducted by Nestlé (makers of much-loved sweets such as Kit Kat candy bars and Haagen-Dazs ice cream), 59 per cent of Canadians agree that chocolate is the ultimate food indulgence. Their study also showed that while more Canadian women would prefer a gift of chocolate from their partner, men by far prefer a bottle of wine as a romantic token.

Personally, I’d rather not choose. In fact, why not snack on some chocolates and then wet your whistle with a few glasses of vino while you admire your flowers?

What about you? Will you give a Valentine’s gift to anyone? And, almost more importantly, do you expect to receive one?

19 Responses to Valentine’s Day musings

  1. It’s terribly unromantic, but Valentine’s Day is pretty much ignored at our house. My husband buys me chocolate frequently (and hides in about the house) and brings me potted plants when I’m feeling down. We’re good to each other all (okay, most) of the time, so don’t feel the need to have our displays of affection pre-scheduled.

    That said, I won’t say no to chocolate just because it’s February 14th.

  2. Barb says:

    Along with a card, I sent some tiny games to the little people in my life. For a special adult someone I am giving a dreamed of kitchen gadget (very shiney pie server) and a favorite fudge. I’m just gald that I’ll be having some company this weekend complete with some quality “baby time” with a boy that’s two and and girl that’s three months! I almost hope I don’t get any candy but will appreciate anything if someone decides to give me something.

  3. Elra says:

    I never expected, but my husband will always able to surprise me *he is so good with it)
    Cheers,
    Elra

  4. Rebecca says:

    Jeff usually gives me flowers and chocolate, but instead of a box of chocolates, he gives me Scharffen-Berger cocoa powder or blocks of Valrhona that I can use later. He’s such a keeper.

  5. Cheryl says:

    We don’t go gaga over Valentine’s Day, but I usually do get a bouquet of some sort. My husband has learned over the years not to get me lilies (which make me sneeze) or roses, which I think are horribly overpriced this time of year.

  6. Natashya says:

    I actually stopped hubby from buying flowers a while ago – I can’t bear the thought of almost a hundred dollars dying within a few days on my countertop. Now he takes me out for kitchen gadget shopping – hey, at least it lasts!
    We also make a nice dinner together, usually trying something new and out of our comfort zone.
    I am just so so about chocolates and we always have wine – but I generally bake something nice.. maybe the same thing you are baking!?

  7. Dana says:

    Nataysha: I baked last night (wink) and will serve my wares tonight to celebrate my moms birthday which is tomorrow.

    I’m afriad I don’t get anything for valentine’s day. Martin shuns it after all these years in the restaurant biz. I got him something though and that will make him chagrinned since we supposedly have agreed not to do VDay. He’ll just have to suffer. ; )

  8. Diva says:

    We don’t usually make a big deal out of Valentine’s Day. Like Charmian said, we’re good to each other all year – or try to be – and that’s far more important to me. We can’t really do the flower thing because our cats are unruly and attack them! I don’t expect or even really want a gift just because its Valentine’s Day. I prefer the unexpected gift or treat – and he’s a great one for doing that.

    We’re going out to a little club to hear some music tomorrow night and that’s how we’ll celebrate. I’ve also made my husband a batch of dark chocolate/cherry truffles this year as a special treat … but I’m not sure they’ll even last until tomorrow!

  9. Cheryl A says:

    It isn’t much of a romantic holiday in our house. I gave up expecting anything years and years ago. Randomly he will surprise me with dinner, but I’m not holding my breath this year. he did just buy me a new camera and computer, after all. That’s much better than chocolates right now!
    That being said, we made some sugar cookies this morning to decorate with The Monster. I guess it is all about the kids now.

  10. Valentine’s Day is ignored in our house, especially since my wife’s birthday is February 13th. But then again, I ignore all holidays. As others have implied above, romance should be more than one day a year.

  11. biz319 says:

    Even though each year we say we are only going to exchange cards, my hubby still buys me flowers!😀

    And I buy him the smallest box of Whitman’s chocolate – otherwise he’d eat the whole thing!

    And we stopped going out on V-day a long time ago – not worth the wait and pre fixe menus!

  12. danamccauley says:

    Totally agree with you Biz319 – Mother’s Day and Valentine’s Day are my two least favourite days to go out dinner. Just too busy!

  13. gammypie says:

    I love Valentine’s Day! I skip the restaurant scene and focus my efforts on a lovely dinner at home. I love giving gifts of fine chocolate and wine to my hubby and my Mom.

  14. Chuck says:

    Dana, I’m with you chocolate and wine are the perfect combination for Valentines. However you could add a few Strawberries too.

  15. Hélène says:

    I love chocolates and flowers and a night out.

    So I got flowers, bought chocolates from my husband and we are going at the Officers Mess for a Valentine Dinner with friends. It’s a perfect day. Happy Valentine Day🙂

  16. I went to a chocolate event once that did a few wine and chocolate pairings. It was surprisingly good. Sorry, I can’t remember that actual pairings though.

  17. danamccauley says:

    Last year Natalie Maclean wrote up some chocolate and wine pairings for my blog. Here’s the link:
    https://danamccauley.wordpress.com/2008/02/14/chocolate-and-wine-pairing-tips/

    I believe all this great info (and more!) is on Natalie’s website, too.

  18. Jude says:

    I’m okay with Valentine’s Day, I think.
    What I can’t stand is sweetest day in October. Now that’s manufactured. I mean c’mon. Sweetest day sounds so lame.

  19. Smith says:

    good blog you have mate, keep it up😉

Leave a Reply

