Heart attacks to go

heart-attack-grill-menu1

I thought Cosplay restaurants pushed the boundaries of sensible foodservice conceptualization – after all, what could be more offensive than eating noodles out of a toilet shaped bowl? But, then I heard about the Heart Attack Grill.

It’s hard to believe that this restaurant actually exists. To be honest it seems more like something you’d see in a satirical show like South Park or The Simpsons rather than a business that someone would actually put their time and money into developing.

From Flatliner Fries to Quadruple Bypass Burgers (2 lbs of meat, 4 layers of cheese and 12 slices of bacon!) to waitresses dressed as naughty nurses who will push you to your car in a wheelchair after your meal, this place is crass on almost every level; in fact, the menu even includes lung searing unfiltered cigarettes!

The kicker: According to this article in the Nation’s Restaurant News, Heart Attack Grill is a thriving restaurant. Go figure.

What do you think about this concept? Do you find it a fun idea or offensive? And, if you find HAG offensive, what upsets you: the objectification of women, the insensitivity toward serious illness… something else entirely?

I have to say that for me, this restaurant is like a circus sideshow. I know it’s horrible to want to look at it, but I can’t help but be fascinated and horrified by the idea at the same time.

14 Responses to Heart attacks to go

  1. Rosa says:

    I’ve heard a lot about this place and even saw a documentary on tv about it. It fascinates me as it’s surreal and has to be seen as a big joke (black sense of humor)!!!

    cheers,

    Rosa

  2. John Biggs says:

    I think that it sends ALL the wrong messages, and unfortunately there are too many people who will just blindly accept it as ‘fun’. I think it reinforces the attitude that there’s too much fuss being made over what we consume, which is wrong. Most of us don’t take seriously enough the importance of what we put in our bodies. While it may be true that we need to lighten up about it, the Heart Attack Grill is offering no solutions, just more controversy. As an illustration from another genre, “Paul Blart: Mall Cop” was the #1 movie for two weeks in a row, so there’s really no accounting for taste.

  3. What John said.

    I’m all for a decadent dessert or rich Alfredo sauce now and am all in favour of not taking anything too seriously. But this looks like the kind of humour used to justify bad habits, not show evidence of intelligent reflection.

  4. Barb says:

    I’ve never heard of this place. When I saw the photos at the top I thought you were setting the stage for a big joke! And maybe that is kind of what it is. They produce it everyday for all those who want to say “I did it” once. You have the masses of population to support that. I can’t see them lasting for long. (Or have they already?)

  5. danamccauley says:

    Hey there,

    If you’re reading this post before 1 pm EST today and you can tune in to Hamilton’s Talk 820 radio, I’ll be on discussing this blog post:

    http://www.talk820.com/shows/781065 and the comments people have left so far today.

  6. cheryl says:

    This place is going to make a lot of money. There’s nothing people like more than being told their bad habits are funny, or that those concerned for their health have no sense of humor.

  7. Elra says:

    The title say it all!
    I must be living in a remote town, never heard of this before.

  8. Diva says:

    I recently saw this place for the first time on the Food Network. While I do think its awful, for all the reasons stated above, I have a very dark sense of humor and can’t deny that part of me *was* amused at first. Then I clicked your link and took a spin through their website … now I’m disgusted! Completely and utterly disgusted on every level. Its not just the objectification of women, or the gross pimp-age of fatty food, that have sickened me – its the pictures of children eating this crap and the cheerful “Children Always Welcome!” sign. Revolting. I feel like I need a shower. 😦

  9. Amy Snider says:

    I don’t even know where to start…..!

    I highly doubt that people actually finish the meals that they order so while North Americans are trying to save precious pennies and in other countries people are starving to death – this restaurant flaunts excess and waste. Shame, shame, shame…

  10. Beth says:

    Dana, I heard you on the radio a little earlier talking about this place and portion control. Good job! I totally agree with you that places like this one that glorify excess are not a good thing for kids.

  11. danamccauley says:

    Check out this CBS news story on HAG:
    http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=4632991n

    Thanks to Peter Minaki for sharing it with me!

  12. roasted potatoes…

    […]Heart attacks to go « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  13. how to get youtube viewsbuy youtube comments…

    […]Heart attacks to go « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

Leave a Reply

