Mystery in my cold room

img_32791People often wonder aloud to me about what it’s like having two professional chefs under one roof. To be honest, it feels pretty normal to me to be one half of our domestic culinary team so I find the question a little difficult to answer.

While I reign supreme 75% of the time in our home kitchen (I’m around more often at meal time), Martin does contribute often by bringing home great ingredients I wouldn’t be able to get in a retail store. Our foodie interests are evident in other parts of our house, too. For instance, these sausages are currently hanging in our cold room; they hang next to two full sized proscuittos Martin’s dry aging. I have no idea how a family of three is going to eat this much cured pork, but I’m sure Martin has something in mind. I’m just going to wait and see!

If you’re in a couple, how do you and your other half divide up the culinary duties? Does one of you cook while the other eats or do you share in the shopping and cooking?

12 Responses to Mystery in my cold room

  1. Rosa says:

    I’d love to have a cold room and such a beautiful bunch of sausages in it!

    I cook and bake and we shop together…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. My husband has a limited repertoire, but makes the morning coffee, his own hot breakfast and vats of chili for packed lunches.

    Because we’re a one-car family and he commutes in our only vehicle, he does most of the grocery shopping on the way home. We do pantry items together on weekends, but he picks up fresh veggies and meat throughout the week.

    I usually cook dinner. It’s a tiny kitchen so 1’s company, 2’s a crowd. My husband usually helps with the clean up, so it all evens out in the end.

  3. Elra says:

    That is a nice combination to have, cold room and chef husband.
    Cheers,
    Elra

    • Laurais says:

      Congratulations to Laura! I’m thankful for you too Katy – you know why! We cebeeratld Thanksgiving here last month, but a friend of mine from Nebraska is throwing a Thanksgiving dinner party tonight and I will b going to that!

  4. Rebecca says:

    OK, Jeff has been talking about aging prosciutto in the house. What’s the smell factor?

    I do the grocery shopping and cooking through the work week. Jeff cooks on the weekends. If he’s cooking something special, we actually get geeked up about going to the butcher or fish market. And we make fresh pasta together, because I’m just not that coordinated.

    I’m so glad someone else has sausages hanging in the house.

  5. danamccauley says:

    our cold room has a tightly fitting door so there is no smell factor at all. When you open the door it’s not too strong either sin e it’s all wrapped up in cheese cloth. I say go for it!

  6. Diva says:

    Dana, you’re a lucky woman and let me be the first to offer to come up and help you finish off all those yummy cured meats! LOL

    Interesting questions and I’ve enjoyed reading the responses. Kitchen duties generally fall to me these days. My husband is an attorney who’s often on trial and working in excess of 12 hours a day. I’m happy to man the stove and when he does have the rare day off we do enjoy cooking together. He loves to cook and roasts a mean chicken, but rarely has the time. He’s happy to do his part in cleaning the kitchen as well, about which I am grateful. During the week I do all of the shopping and cooking and we often do both together on weekends.

    When he was in law school, and I was working full time, he did all the shopping and cooking … so its evened out over the long haul.🙂

  7. Terry says:

    At our house, I do all the cooking (unless you count some weird french toast with parmesan cheese creation) because I love to cook and my husband,…well,…he hasn’t a clue; and I do the shopping because I have Friday’s off,..sounds fair to me, lol.

  8. danamccauley says:

    All that counts is that the people who split the duties are happy with the arrangement, right?

  9. Cheryl says:

    Colin and I had a deal when we first got married. Whoever cooked didn’t have to do the dishes. It was a pretty even trade at first, with him cooking and me washing, or me cooking and him washing. But once I went to culinary school I become obsessed with cooking. Poor guy now spends a good 40 minutes doing dishes every single night. He never complains, though — I mean, really, a deal’s a deal, in perpetuity.

  10. megan says:

    I think I’ve been shafted. I cook, shop, AND do the dishes.

  11. […] those mysterious duck sausages I told you about a few weeks ago? Well, they are ready at last and they taste super […]

Leave a Reply

