Last call for Mardi Gras 2009

bigassbeersbourbonstTomorrow is “Fat Tuesday,” the day that marks the culmination of Mardi Gras celebrations for 2009. At my house, that means we’ll likely have pancakes for supper (I look forward to this meal more than I should admit!) but in other places it means fists full of aspirin to recover — party time is on the roster.

While you can have a Mardi Gras party anywhere, the ultimate place to kick up your heels in North America is New Orleans, Louisiana. Last year I attended a conference there in April; it was my first time visiting NOLA and I have to say, while I loved much about the city, the famous Bourbon Street was a pretty grungy strip (doesn’t that sign I photographed say it all!?).

Will you commemorate Mardi Gras in any way? If so, how?

Regardless of whether you choose to splurge on carbs (like me) or party like L’il Wayne, I’ve got the recipe you need:

Dana’s Super Fluffy Pancakes
Vintage Sazerac Cocktails

12 Responses to Last call for Mardi Gras 2009

  1. Beth says:

    Did someone say pancakes?

  2. Rosa says:

    I’d love to be in New Orleans for Mardis Gras… Unfortunately, we never celebrate this day as I always forget about it!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. Barb says:

    New Orleans would be fun but I may just do pancakes as well. My mom used to make pancakes for supper every once in awhile too and they always went over well. This might be a good time to think about cutting out a few items for a few weeks, too……

  4. cheryl says:

    Tomorrow’s Fat Tuesday? Shameful, but I didn’t realize. Maybe I’ll cook up some red beans and rice with andouille…

  5. Sheryl says:

    Cities need grungy strips. While they’re often dirty and tacky and sad, they also have an energy and a sense of place that makes them memorable. I once spent an evening sitting on the curb on Bourbon Street drinking frozen hurricanes and meeting people from all over the world. It was a fabulous time. And it’s amazing to see how they’ve cleaned it up for the family groups of tourists by the next morning – you’d never know it was the same place.

  6. Diva says:

    Sadly, I’ve never been to NOLA … though it cheers me a bit to know that there’s still a bit of grunge there. New York has become all too clean and mall-like of late and I rather miss a bit of the grit.

    Funny, though I do observe Lent, I never remember to do anything special for Mardi Gras. I did have pancakes this morning … but they were of the guilt-free variety … so that doesn’t count!😉

  7. Cheryl A says:

    My sister in law is from NOLA. She celebrates a lot of the local traditions in her new Edmonton home – black eyed peas at New Year’s and so on. We just usually make pancakes for dinner. And really, why don’t we do that more often?

  8. I totally forgot about Mardi Gras, despite all the talk of having celebrations throughout the US, not just New Orleans.

    I don’t observe Lent, so Fat Tuesday doesn’t mean much to me. But now I’m craving pancakes.

  9. danamccauley says:

    I don’t observe lent either but an opportunity to party or eat pancakes gets me on the bandwagon pretty quickly!

  10. I love New Orleans so much. I visited NOLA a few years back, and my love for creole and beignets have grown stronger ever since. In honour of Mardi Gras, I think I’ll be making a really spicy Jambalaya tonight!

Leave a Reply

