Bake a cake: Cranberry Bundt Cake

cranberrybundtcake

Reading my blog, you could get the impression that all I ever make are butter tarts, banana bread and butterscotch pudding (otherwise known around my house as the sugary trinity of B). And, truth be told, I do fall into cycles when it comes to dessert recipes. That fact admitted and duly noted, I shsould tell you that I also know how to make other yummy things, too.

Take this bundt cake for instance. It’s super moist, freezes well and needs no frosting or glaze to present well. In fact, the most difficult thing about making this cake is not eating more of it than I should!

I’ve noticed lately that many bundt cake recipes on the net and in recently printed cookbooks contain sour cream. While I like what sour cream adds to the texture of a cake like this one, I find that even with no dairy beyond butter that the recipe below is moist and yummy.

Does your favourite bundt cake recipe contain sour cream?

Lemony Cranberry Bundt Cake

1/2 cup (125 mL) dried cranberries
3/4 cup (175 mL) lemon juice
3 cups (750 mL) all-purpose flour
2 tsp (10 mL) baking powder
1/2 tsp (2 mL) salt
1 1/4 cups (310 mL) butter, softened
2 cups (500 mL) icing sugar (approx.)
4 eggs. beaten
2 tsp (10 mL) vanilla

Combine the cranberries and the lemon juice in a microwave-safe glass bowl or measure. Heat until steaming. Let stand until cool. Strain, reserving the lemon juice and cranberries separately. Butter a 10-in (25 cm) bundt/tube pan well.

Preheat the oven to 350°F (180°C). Stir the flour with the baking powder and salt. Beat the butter with the sugar until fluffy. Gradually beat in the eggs, reserved lemon juice and vanilla. Add the flour, stirring until batter is almost smooth. Fold in the reserved cranberries. Scrape into the prepared pan and smooth the top.

Bake for 1 hour or until a tester inserted into the centre comes out clean. Cool in the pan for 15 minutes. Turn out onto a rack and cool completely. Lightly dust with icing sugar before serving. Makes 16 servings.

22 Responses to Bake a cake: Cranberry Bundt Cake

  1. Charmaine Broughton says:

    I don’t normally make “traditional bundt” cakes however I do utilize my bunt pan often. I pour my banana bread batter, chocolate cake batter or muffin mix into this neat round pan and place the finished product on a cake stand so when folks enter my kitchen I look like a domestic diva. No sour cream needed!

  2. Bundt cakes are fabulous! Think of that line in the movie’My Big Fat Greek Wedding’….

    I feel obliged to share with you and your readers my Apple Cake with Warm Honey Sauce that receives rave reviews for its taste and simplicity at my cooking classes. Every week someone emails me they made it at home and only wish cakes as tasty as this were available in restaurants!

    The cake is also great without the honey sauce – the sauce just ‘kicks it up a notch’. The cake freezes well too. Enjoy the recipe!

    And, Dana, I read your blog almost daily — I’m a lurker who’s been too shy to post….LOL!

    Take care,
    Deb

    APPLE CAKE WITH WARM HONEY SAUCE

    4 apples, peeled and sliced (I prefer royal gala)
    1-1/2 cups sugar
    2 eggs
    1/2 cup canola oil
    2 tsp vanilla
    2 cups flour
    2 tsp baking soda
    1 tsp salt
    2 tsp cinnamon
    1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans, optional

    Honey Sauce
    1 cup honey
    ½ cup unsalted butter
    ½ cup whipping cream
    pinch of salt

    Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour a 10-inch bundt pan.

    In a large bowl, mix apples and sugar.

    Add eggs, oil and vanilla to apple mixture. Blend well.

    Add remaining ingredients. Beat together for 4 minutes.

    Pour into the bundt pan. Bake in oven for 55 –60 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool for at least 1 hour. Remove from pan.

    For honey sauce, combine honey, butter, cream and salt in a heavy pot.

    Bring to a boil, stirring occasionally, and boil for 1 minute.

    Serve warm over the cake.

    Serves 12 to 16

  3. Barb says:

    I bought a new bundt pan just before Christmas and baked my Christmas cake in it. It burned. The pan is a synthetic one. Or something like that. Do they need any adjustments in temperature? The cake recipe said that it may look like it is getting very dark but don’t be concerned. Well my “very dark” had a burned flavor!

  4. Elra says:

    Sounds delicious Dana!

  5. Kathryn says:

    I bought two Bundt pans in the last year (both Nordicware). The first one was quite thin, and I had trouble getting the cake out, which is why I bought the more traditional type. I still have not quite mastered ‘getting the cake out’, but I am improving. 🙂
    They just look so pretty.

  6. I was going to mention “My Big Fat Greek Wedding” but Debbie beat me to it.

    I actually haven’t made a bundt cake in years and no longer have a bundt pan. I’m sorely tempted by those gorgeous sunflower / Christmas wreath version that cost a fortune. So, if I find one on sale, I’ll give this recipe a whirl.

  7. danamccauley says:

    Debbie, thanks for your recipe – I’m sure it will be sensational! Thanks not only for reading but also for making a comment. I’m glad you got over your shyness – great to ‘see’ you here!

    Barb, I’m not sure what’sup with your pan but it might be worth a call to the manufacturer to complain. That sucks!

    Kathryn, I find that buttering and flouring helps with the relaese. Likewise, if you have a ‘sticky’ pan, it can help to put a clean damp cloth over the inverted warm pan and let it stand for a couple of minutes to create a bit of steam between the crust of the cake and the pan.

    Charmian, I’ve been tempted by those pans, too – super pricey! and I worry that like Kathryn’s experience, the cake will stick with all those nooks and crannies.

  8. Kathryn says:

    Dana,

    Thanks for the great tip on the damp cloth. I have certainly learned to be generous with the buttering & flouring — and the results have improved each time.

    Kathryn

  9. Cheryl says:

    Yes, my favorite bundt cakes all use sour cream. I have one I’m preparing to post but the recipe is so long my laziness has so far gotten the better of me.

    Your cake is lovely… it really shows off your food-styling ability, too.

  10. Diva says:

    Oooh, I love that you’ve included the lemon juice in this recipe, Dana, I’ll bet its terrific! I’m bookmarking this one to try, because I adore all things cranberry too. Love it!

    I’m ashamed to admit that my all time favorite bundt cake begins with a boxed chocolate cake mix. Shock! Horror! (Except that its really, really good.)

  11. Diva says:

    Oops, I forgot to ask my question … is “icing” sugar the same thing as confectioners sugar?

  12. danamccauley says:

    Thanks Cheryl!

    Diva, yes. Icing sugar and confectioner’s sugar are the same. Sometimes I see it called powdered sugar, too.

  13. Cheryl A says:

    I must admit to not making a bundt cake before, at least not that I can remember. I’ve always lived with limited kitchen storage and a bundt pan never met the criteria of something that would get used often enough to justify the space needs.

    That being said, I’ve had a hankering for cake lately so today I broke out the 8 inch rounds and made a chocolate cake. No sour cream, but beer!

  14. Natashya says:

    Mmm, I love bundt cakes, and the beautiful pans available for them. Yours is stunning!

  15. Diva says:

    Thanks, Dana, I just wanted to be sure.

    Cheryl A. – will you be posting about your beer-y chocolate cake? I hope so, it sounds intriguing!

  16. cherie says:

    This bundt cake looks incredibly moist! If I were your neighbour, I’d drop by right now:)

  17. danamccauley says:

    And, I’d be glad to see you at the door – this is too much cake for a family of three!

  18. Cakelaw says:

    This looks heavenly – I could use a slice of that. Not to mention my citrus obsession, so anything with lemon in it has me from “go”.

  19. Kevin says:

    I tend to use yogurt more often but I enjoy sour cream as well.

  20. Jude says:

    My favorite pound cake recipes have sour cream in it. It makes for a more moist bread instead of dry and crumbly.

  21. Kathryn says:

    Hey Dana,

    I buttered than bundt pan within a an inch of its life, so to speak, and the cake came out like a dream. Thank-you. Only two problems now:
    1.) It is slightly overdone
    2.) I want to eat it all in one sitting
    Can’t wait to make it again.

    Thanks,

    Kathryn

  22. smith syndrome…

    […]Bake a cake: Cranberry Bundt Cake « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

Leave a Reply

