“Open That Bottle Night”

openthatbottle

I’ll embrace almost any reason to open up a bottle of wine. Most Friday evenings the fact that Battlestar Galactica is on is reason enough for me to pop a cork. So, when I heard that February 27th is Open That Bottle Night, I was instantly intrigued.

The event, which has taken place on the last Saturday of February for the past 10 years, is meant to prompt wine lovers to uncork the bottle that they coddled and ogled until now it’s the perfect age or just let sit and collect dust waiting for a special occasion that either didn’t come or didn’t include people who would appreciate the wine.

I love this idea since I think that in the current economic climate we all need a treat and what’s better than a treat you paid for years ago? My husband Martin has always said that wine cellars are for when you’re broke and, as you can see from the picture above, we’ve been broke many times!

Do you have a bottle in your wine cellar or liquor cabinet that you’ve been saving for special occasion? Will you open it tonight?

8 Responses to “Open That Bottle Night”

  1. Rosa says:

    Yes, I have one or two, but will wait until a better moment/time in oreder to open them!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. I watch Battlestar Galactica too! I love this idea. There is a bottle of wine I’ve been saving for… no reason other than it’s very, very nice. But then again, so am I🙂

    Now, where’s that corkscrew?

  3. Diva says:

    There are many bottles in our under-the-counter wine cellar … the management of which is the husband’s domain … so I’m not sure what is being saved for when. I had no idea that today is “Open That Bottle Day” – cool concept. I’ll fill him in tonight and let him choose what to open. Cheers!

  4. Andrea says:

    I have a bottle of zinfandel that was opened on Monday and needs to be consumed.

    I’m thinking Battlestar Galactica drinking game. Take a gulp of wine when someone utters any variation of “frack”.

  5. Cheryl says:

    Okay, I’ll admit it: we drink cheap wine. There, I said it.

  6. danamccauley says:

    Cheryl, I’ll try to find you a support group – hold on sweetie!

  7. Kitt says:

    Funny. If I’d known, maybe a party would’ve been in order.

    I do have some ’70s vintages and one ’59 that I’m saving for special occasions. And some of those occasions have already happened, so I know the wine is darn good.

  8. danamccauley says:

    Kitt: A ’59 – that’s special! It’s a burgundy, I assume?

    We ended up drinking a Il Tarocco 1995 Riserva Chianti that Martin had been given as a gift – it was so yummy!

Leave a Reply

