Getting ready to grill

cedarwrapped-troutAh, my precious grill. How I miss thee. Sigh.

As the winter starts to wind down, I’m more than a little excited about getting out into the backyard so that I can have regular dinner dates with an open flame once again. Last week I ducked out for a clandestine quickie to try out a new grilling technique. While I’ll certainly be using my tried and true recipes when the weather warms up, I’m also excited to have discovered the Cedar Smoking Sheets pictured above.

I don’t know much about the origins of this concept (one package I read said they were Japanese-style but none of my Japanese friends seem to have used them before), but the idea is clever: you soak these supple sheets in water, wine, tea, etc. and then wrap them around raw pieces of fish, chicken, cheese and such before trussing them closed and placing the bundles on the hot grill.

The result: smoky flavour and no scorched or torn pieces of food.

Have you tried these sheets? If so, how would you rate your attraction to them? Do you love ‘em, like ‘em or think they’re just not all that?

FYI: I bought my first pack online but I know that Sobeys will be carrying these sheets in their stores this summer.

Links to other grilling related posts:
Smoke Chips
Smokin’
International Grilling Atlas
Best Rib Recipe
Instant Read Thermometers
Burger Tips
Spring Grilling
Cold Weather Grilling
Cheeseburger Tips

15 Responses to Getting ready to grill

  1. Ohhhhh. This looks good. I haven’t tried the sheets, but I definitely will give them a try — once the thermometer decides it wants to shift above -20C.

  2. Barb says:

    Hey, great idea! I assume they don’t need hours and hours of soaking like the planks do? Makes it easier to have a spontaneous cedar flavoring event.

  3. danamccauley says:

    Right you are Barb. These sheets are whisper thin so they can be soaked for minutes not hours.

  4. Diva says:

    What a neat idea. Thanks for the tip, Dana. Obviously I don’t have a grill here in NYC, but we do a fair amount of grilling when I visit my parents in Connecticut. Will try this this summer for sure.

    Rather nice to think about grilling today … we’re in the midst of a blizzard. Gotta love March … or not!

  5. Natashya says:

    That does look like a fun product to check out this summer. I bought hubby a smoker box last year for his grill, but he hasn’t used it yet.
    I am so looking forward to grilling… kabobs, burgers, veggies….😛

  6. Rosa says:

    I would love to find these smoking sheets here… A great idea!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  7. Cheryl says:

    Never heard of these, but I’m definitely going to keep my eyes open for them. I’m too cheap to buy the planks… these look like a perfect alternative.

  8. Those look like a good idea for people who want the smoky flavor.I might have to try them.If you want more recipes or if you want to take a look at the collection of tips I have for grilling you can visit http://www.cookingandgrillinoutdoors.com

  9. Hélène says:

    We’re fortunate to grill all year long. I have to find those sheets.

  10. ash says:

    oh wow i haven’t seen these before! i want to try them out!

  11. Cheryl A says:

    What a fantastic idea!
    We grill no matter the weather here. Once we pulled the grill right up to the patio doors – staying inside with the grill outside!

  12. This is a fun alternative, and I bet the sheets are more economical than buying individual planks every time? Great idea!

  13. danamccauley says:

    I think they’ll compost down a lot more quickly than planks, too!

  14. Y says:

    Oh how exciting! I love wrapped foods, and have cedar sheets being used before, but have never seen it on sale anywhere!

Leave a Reply

