Topline Trends Tuesday: Kindle – meet your next cookbook shelf

kindle-and-coffee

Photo credit: http://aaroncrocco.wordpress.com/2008/07/08/capacious-kindle-for-july-8/

Did I ever mention here that I have a degree in English literature? That many times? Really? Um, sorry.

Anyhow, as a result of my love of books, I became a Lit major; that love continued well into my adult life and led me to amass a lot of books of all kinds. In fact, I’ve had to move my cookbook library out of my house (it now takes up a full room at my test kitchen) and I’ve started to abandon novels that I’ve read and don’t plan to read again in coffee shops. Yes, I know that the library is just around the corner from my house, but as an author myself, I buy books to support my industry.

While I’m sure that I’ll always have more books in my home than the average person, I’m so fatigued by clutter management that I’m very excited about the possibilities the Kindle offers readers and home cooks alike.

While the iphone and Nintendo DS are shouting ‘look at me’ to get home cooks to use these devices in the kitchen, the Kindle is quietly gaining momentum as a portable cookbook storage device that you can take with you and use anywhere. In fact, on Amazon, there are already 2,105 food related titles available for downloading on the Kindle!

I haven’t had a chance to use a real live Kindle yet but I like what I see! In fact, I think being able to consolidate even just my newspaper and magazine reading into a Kindle would be efficient and a great use of the world’s resources since fewer trees would be harmed by my voracious magazine addiction.

Have any of you used a Kindle? If so, did you like it or find flaws people like me need to know about before we lay our credit cards on the shop counter?

Even if you haven’t tried one out, tell me how you feel about this innovation- does it inspire you or get your ire up?

16 Responses to Topline Trends Tuesday: Kindle – meet your next cookbook shelf

  1. Beth says:

    I’ve never even heard of this little gizmo – it sounds amazing! Can you buy them in Canada?

  2. Kathryn says:

    I think that the Kindle is pretty cool, but I am not a bit fan of reading from screens, so I not sure that I would use it for reading literature. However, I would love a gizmo to store my recipes on. Something the size of a Kindle would be perfect. I have contemplated using a netbook for recipes, but it still seems larger than necessary.

  3. Barb says:

    I LOVE books and that includes cookbooks. I have quite a few myself but no where near the amount that you have. (that might be a good thing!) Anyway, I like the idea of Kindle. I’ve never heard of it until now. I often just look through my cookbooks for something to do; to get ideas or whatever but sometimes when I think back to a recipe I want to try I can’t always remeber which book I saw it in. My memory is not what it used to be! I suppose this gadget will eliminate that problem?

  4. Cheryl A says:

    Nothing can replace the sound of paper crinkling as you turn the page on a magazine with a cup of tea by your side. Nothing can replace browsing through your cookbooks for some new inspiration. I’m not sure I would even want an index through something like that. Even my two year old gets in on the action, helping me look for a recipe out of whatever cookbook she can get her hands on, or wanting to read recipes while she eats… like Mama does.

    Plus, wouldn’t you worry about wrecking the thing if it was sitting on your kitchen counter? Maybe it’s just the klutz in me, but I keep the laptop in another room even if I am using a recipe on-line. Too paranoid about spillage.

  5. danamccauley says:

    Interestingly, on Facebook, I’m seeing very different comments than here on the blog! Pop over and check on my profile page to see what people have to say there.

  6. I’ve heard a lot about Kindle, both pro and con. I like the idea of saving trees and space, but there are still too many kinks left to iron out before I fork over $400 for the unit. I’m also not pleased about the rights issues.

    I too like the look, feel and smell of cookbooks. I love to flip pages and see the lovely colour photos. I also make notes in my cookbooks (double the ginger, omit the cloves, don’t make this again EVER) and wonder if Kindle allows for my scribbles.

  7. Ciao Dana. Take a look at David Pogue’s Circuits articles in the NY Times. He compares Kindle with the Sony Reader and it should give you a better idea if this is something that will work for you.
    I got burned on the original e-reader so I’m waiting a few cycles before I plunge into either the Kindle or the Reader.

  8. Cheryl says:

    Fascinating post. My husband’s parents got him a Kindle last year and I completely thumbed my nose at it. I slammed it as overpriced and hated how uniform and sterile it made the process of reading seem. But then I went on a business trip and really wanted to read a new release. I borrowed hubby’s Kindle, downloaded the book for $10, and have stolen his Kindle several more times since.

    It has never occurred to me to use it for cookbooks, though. I think I’d draw the line there… I just love the colors/photos too much, and I write, literally, all over my cookbooks.

    But I’ve learned never to say never.

  9. Diva says:

    I’d say I’m curious but hesitant on the subject of electronic readers. I’m a total book hound and, living in an apartment, we’re running out of book space. I feel like they’re everywhere! Saving space makes the Kindle, or similar products, desirable. On the other hand, I really like books. I like the way the feel, I prefer to read off of a page rather than a screen for extended periods of time and I just like hold them even.

    One of my sister in laws has a reader (can’t remember the brand) – a gift from her husband – and she’s never really warmed up to it. I browsed through hers a few months ago and I wasn’t really tempted to bite. I think I’m a dinosaur.

    … off to build more bookshelves ….

  10. Sarah says:

    A friend of mine has the original Kindle and I’m planning on purchasing the Kindle 2 soon.

    I love books and I have boxes and boxes at my parents’ home that I can’t give up, but as an expat living in Japan, and one that plans to live abroad for several more years, the Kindle is a godsend. There’s no need to worry about sending books home or wherever I end up moving to. Plus, access to English books tends to be limited in other countries if you’re not in a large city.

    I too love the photos of food in cookbooks, so I don’t think that it would ever fully replace mine, but for all of those times when you just need the recipe, it will be invaluable.

  11. Caroline says:

    eeek… I don’t know if I can give up my books! I get so tired of looking at screens so often that my hands revel in the feel of the paper. Also, I have followed my mom’s tradition of writing little notes on the pages next to recipes I have tried.

  12. […] I was inspired to write this post after I read a blog post over at Dana McCauley’s Food Blog, and she had a post there titled ” Topline Trends Tuesday: Kindle – meet your next cookbook shelf […]

  13. Tony says:

    I bookmarked your blog, thanks for sharing this very interesting post

  14. danamccauley says:

    Tony, it’s my pleasure! Hope to see you commenting here more in the future!

  15. Lindsey says:

    I just started using the kindle for pc on my laptop. Amazon will let you sample a book for free. I was reading mixed reviews about cookbooks on the kindle so I sampled a cookbook I was wanting. The only problem is reading some of the fractions. The 1/3 and 1/8 are super tiny, but everything else was easy to read and the pictures are sharp and clear. I love cookbooks to read to browse, to flip through, but I wanted it instantly, the price was right and it was easy to read.

  16. Enhance Title and Description Tags: Optimizing tags is crucial when it comes
    to indexing and position any internet site. The bottom line is
    that, when it arrives to executing superior organization, you only cannot find the money for to
    overlook your on-line existence.

Leave a Reply

