If I disappear…

veuve-clicquot-harrods-bar

I hope today’s post won’t offend anyone but I have to say, my idea of heaven doesn’t include clouds, harps, or brawny man-servants making gooey entrees with Philadelphia cream cheese. No, my idea of heaven is hanging out at Harrods. Not shopping, just lounging about at this Veuve Clicquot champagne bar in the famous London Department store.

Be forewarned, if I ever go missing for longer than a bathroom break, you should check for me there. I’ll be the one sitting at the bar with a contented smile on her face.

What’s your idea of a posh escape? Do you want to sip champagne with me or bask in the sunshine with a margarita made with fresh lime juice?

 

PS:  Although you won’t see me participating in the comments until Friday, don’t send any search parties out to London. I’m just in New York attending a Peanut event at the Astor Centre!

17 Responses to If I disappear…

  1. Rosa says:

    It looks like paradize ;-P!

    cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Natashya says:

    That does look good! But I wouldn’t mind a brawny man-servant – maybe he could give me a foot massage as I sipped my champagne!🙂

  3. I’ve no one definition of a posh escape — it all depends on the mood, but right now I could sure go for a villa in Tuscany, sipping red wine and eating whatever the hired help served.

  4. Jeanne says:

    I’ll drink to that!!!!!!

  5. Barb says:

    Do we have to settle for only one?

  6. Rebecca says:

    Oh, that does look nice.

    We’ve had too much work and “excitement” lately, so I’d like to escape to one of those really posh, open-air vacation “huts” in Fiji that’s actually out on the water. Several are owned by celebrities. Maybe I can borrow Brad Pitt’s … or Brad Pitt.😉

  7. Cheryl A says:

    Right now as posh as I can imagine is a quiet spot to read uninterrupted. With two little ones that is the definition of true luxury!

  8. Amy says:

    I agree – must we just choose one?

    At the moment I’d like to go to a remote exclusive all inclusive island w/ people to cater to my every need…..

    *sigh* Hey I can dream right?

  9. Diva says:

    I’m with Charmian … depends on the day or mood. Today, my escape would be somewhere warm and tropical. Almost any day it could be Paris, anywhere in Paris, and often its someplace local, like Bar Boulud … Daniel Boulud’s exquisite bistro/wine bar. We “escaped” there last night – the wine, cheese and charcuterie were magnificent!

    Love your choice too, Dana. Have a great trip!

  10. Elra says:

    Hmmm, it looks very sterile… I’d love to sit there too. It does look like heaven, heaven should be sterile, no?
    cheers,
    elra

  11. That looks amazing! My idea of heaven is right down the road from me – Spa Utopia – it’s the most amazing day spa and sooooo relaxing! If it’s good enough for Halle Berry, it’s good enough for me🙂

  12. MsGourmet says:

    I think we’re going to the same heaven!

  13. Amy Snider says:

    When I went to Europe while driving to the “sights” I passed through some really gorgeous, lush countryside in both France and Italy. I would love to go back and hang out in a vineyard on a sunny day and drink chilled Sauvignon Blanc and eat bread and cheese endlessly….

  14. Max says:

    Similar to yours, but at Lafayette Gourmet in Les Galleries Lafayette in Paris. Not as pretty to sit at, but tonnes of different champagnes, available even by small glasses. Love it, for the sheer variety thereof.

  15. danamccauley says:

    Hey Max, I like your style!

  16. Krista says:

    I’m actually just about to do a brief write up on this on my blog–hence how I found your blog, which is great! Do you know the bar snacks you get? The crispy cracker bread with some sort of butter? Do you know what’s in the butter?

  17. danamccauley says:

    Sorry Krista. I don’t. Post a link to your review when it’s posted!

Leave a Reply

