Waiting for spring

seedsWell, my untreated, heirloom seeds are ordered from the William Dam seed catalogue and my little greenhouse is assembled (thanks John!). Now all I have to do is wait for spring to hurry up already and get here!

Turns out I’m not alone when it comes to thinking ahead. According to this article in USA Today, seed sales for 2009 are expected to soar to new heights. 

Have you started planning your garden yet? If so, will you start with seeds or plants? I like starting with seeds because there is generally more choice than when you buy live plant stock. (I find it frustrating to be at the garden centre searching for varieties they don’t have in stock.) Besides, it’s so exciting to see little filaments of green popping up through the soil and then, just weeks later, standing tall and fruit laden in your garden!

Likewise, if you are a veggie gardener, what’s your motivation: lower grocery bills, a commitment to locavorism or something else altogether?

6 Responses to Waiting for spring

  1. Adela Campbell says:

    As we are a homeschooling family, we started letting the kids do gardens as a learning chance, but really were blessed with great results, so now we do it for the goodies we get out of it. And it sure does help out on the grocery bill too. =~)
    My son planted his much loved broccoli and our daughter planted her adored brussels sprouts among other things mom and dad threw in there.
    Can’t wait to get started again ourselves. Come on Spring!!!

  2. Natashya says:

    I have big plastic pots along the fenceline for tomatoes and hot peppers. They just taste better. Plus I love walking out there and filling up a basket with something that I have grown!

  3. Amy says:

    I would *love* to have a garden….I just don’t have the greenest of thumbs *I think it skips a generation* : P Plus I live in an apartment complex in a four season state….

    Now if someone had a garden I wouldn’t mind watering it…: P

  4. Barb says:

    I have been checking out the seeds as well. I know what you mean about not finding the plants you want at the garden centre, however, I really don’t have the space to start my plants indoors so I will buy a mixture of both. A few seeds but mostly plants and YES I can hardly wait. The flavor is incomparable, the satisfaction level is very high, grocery bills are a concern too but I sometimes wonder about the cost of produce at the weekly farmer’s market versus the cost of watering?

  5. Diva says:

    Given the color of my thumb … black, and the state of my yard … nonexistent, I have to rely on the gardening of others. Luckily, my brother is at one with the earth and his crops grace my table all summer long. He’s already started some of his crops, mostly from seed and I’m really looking forward to the harvest again this year!

    I’m not surprised to hear that report on seed sales, I think many people will be gardening this year to help lower the grocery bills. Its a wonderful trend. Love the looks of those tomatoes, Dana, yum. Happy gardening and may Spring spring soon!

  6. Arwen says:

    I’m looking at my Autumn seeds here in Sydney. I’ve germinated some beetroot and I hope to put in broad beans when it’s a little cooler. I hope they won’t be too big for my balcony boxes. I garden mostly for the sense of achievement. It’s also the only way to get truly fresh leafy vegetables.

Leave a Reply

