Breakfast wine

breakfastwineDon’t panic! I don’t need an intervention just yet. I’m still miles away from reaching the rehab centre door (although I do seem to be taking crooked pictures!). That said, breakfast was all I could think about when I tasted this new wine that Martin brought home from Vintages.

One sniff and I could pick up the delicious aroma of the coffee beans in this affordable pinotage (it’s $13.95 at the LCBO) wine that is short on fruit but has a soft, round, mocha finish.

It would be the perfect choice if you’re having eggs for supper, heading to a mid day brunch or just can’t decide between having a coffee or a glass of vino.

What do you think? Is coffee flavoured wine a good idea? Or, should coffee mugs and wine glasses keep to their respective corners of the kitchen?

14 Responses to Breakfast wine

  1. Rosa says:

    That’s an interesting pinotage! I don’t think that wine should not have hints of coffee.. It can have so many different flavors (spices, fruits, etc…)…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. It all depends on the winemaster’s skill. Many wines have undertones of chocolate (which is sommelier for cocoa powder), pepper and even crushed rock. Coffee doesn’t surprise me. Now that I read your description, I wonder why this hasn’t been done before, or more prominently.

    I just might have to give this a try… after breakfast, of course.

  3. Jeanne Cafik says:

    Last weekend, I visited 2 separate liquor stores to try to buy this product. The clerk in one store called several cources trying to find a supply. Unfortunately, all were sold out. It must be wonderful……….Guess I have to wait for the next batch to give it a try!

  4. Barb says:

    Hmmmm… Intriguing

  5. cherie says:

    Flavoured wine? Sorry, not for me.

  6. danamccauley says:

    Jeanne, I think it was just re-released. I’ll keep my eye out for you!

  7. Diva says:

    Wine for breakfast? … I just knew there was something I liked about you Dana, we’re kindred spirits!😉

    I’m definitely curious. Does the wine actually contain some form of coffee or is the flavor just in the finish? Frankly, I think it sounds yummy.

  8. danamccauley says:

    I’ve seen various notes that say that coffee beans are added to the barrels and others that suggest it has something to do with the way the oak is treated before the wine is barreled. To be honest, I’m not confident about how it gets this flavour.

  9. Natashya says:

    Generally my breakfast wine of choice is a cava, but this definitely sounds worth trying! Especially as it has an under $15 price tag.

  10. Cheryl says:

    It’s the perfect solution for caffeine-intolerant folks like me. The wine will perk me up and calm me back down simultaneously.

  11. Sara says:

    I can’t say I’d want to drink coffee flavored wine, but it’s an interesting concept!

  12. Cheryl A says:

    Coffee flavoured anything does not appeal to me. Blech.

  13. Jude says:

    So interested in trying this out. I thought I was just seeing things when I saw cafe on the wine bottle.

  14. website says:

    Apple currently incorporates Rhapsody as an application, which is a outstanding begin, still it is now hampered by way of the incapacity toward store regionally upon your iPod, and contains a dismal 64kbps bit selling price. If this changes, then it will relatively negate this advantage for the Zune, nonetheless the 10 new music for each month will nonetheless be a big moreover within Zune Pass’ prefer.

Leave a Reply

