Garlic news

organicgarlicontario

I was so pleased to find not only local but organic local garlic for sale recently at the St. Jacob’s farmers’ market. Garlic grows fantastically well in our Ontario climate so it always seems a shame to find only garlic that has been shipped from China in our stores.

While I’m just happy to find this source of fresh, local garlic, a new ingredient trend is emerging in the fine dining sector. Chefs are experimenting with the flavour of fermented black garlic. First sold as an Asian diet supplement, it is made using a patented, month-long heat-curing process that creates not just a change in flavour but also a high level of antioxidants that are associated with cancer-prevention. Chefs who have tried fermented black garlic say they love the mellow garlic flavour that is accented by slightly sweet licorice notes.

I haven’t tried it myself but, since the new year, I’ve heard this ingredient mentioned a handful of times (Tuesday it was all over Twitter and Facebook, in fact) and now I’m curious to see what it’s all about. Let me know if you’ve tried this novelty and what you thought of it. Also, if you see it for sale, drop me a line and tell me where I can get it! Thanks.

8 Responses to Garlic news

  1. No idea where you can get fermented black garlic, but I know the Why Are We Being Sold Chinese Garlic rant all too well.

    http://christie-corner.blogspot.com/2008/08/grocery-scare.html

  2. danamccauley says:

    Yes, I thought of you as soon as I saw this garlic at the market!

  3. Barb says:

    I’ve never heard of it. I must try to be a little bit more savvy if I want to hang with the likes of you! Eyes wide open, ears tuned in!

  4. Diva says:

    I’ve heard of the fermented black garlic – and would love to try it – but have yet to run across it in my markets. I’ll bet its good.

  5. Sneh says:

    Wow .. your blog makes a lovely read! Subscribing …

  6. Amy Snider says:

    If you love garlic you should check out the Garlic festivals that are held at Farmer’s markets around Ontario. Newmarket Ontario has one in August I believe.

  7. danamccauley says:

    Thanks Amy – that’s good to know.

Leave a Reply

