Topline Trends Tuesday: Lobster – poised to become the new shrimp

img_2583According to a recent CBC news report, Atlantic Canadian lobster is now often a cheaper grocery store choice than bologna: “During the fishing season off the Nova Scotia coast at the end of the year, prices on the wharf fell to $3.50 per pound ($7.70 per kilogram). Sale prices for live lobster in grocery stores over the holidays dropped as low as about $13 per kilogram.” (According to Grocery Gateway, in Ontario bologna is currently 9.98 per lb.)

So, what will the lobster fishermen – an industry already struggling before the economic downturn – do to encourage higher lobster prices?

They have a multi-pronged plan to encourage people to use lobster more often in home cooking and to remind consumers that Canadian Atlantic lobster is a premium choice.

To that I say Bravo! I’d love to see people (in other words me) eating more of this wonderful Canadian seafood.

What about you? Do you think lobster will start turning up in your shopping cart more often if you can start thinking of it in the same category with shrimp?

PS: Pictured above is chef Derek Bendig and the lobster quiche he made for a party I went to a few weeks ago. It was pretty yummy.

13 Responses to Topline Trends Tuesday: Lobster – poised to become the new shrimp

  1. Beth says:

    If I don’t have to kill it or remove it from the shell, I’ll consider buying lobster more often. Otherwise, it’s just too messy for a weeknight at any price.

  2. I love lobster and will take it over shrimp any day — especially since inexpensive Asian farmed shrimp is tasteless, horrid for the environment and full of toxins.

    I rarely cook with seafood because of my husband’s dislike of anything that lives in water. However, there are always potluck suppers and book club. I’ll definitely consider lobster as an alternative to shrimp.

  3. Barb says:

    I’ll have to think about it. So many reports focus on over fishing and I am concerned about the survival of everything in the water.

  4. If only this pricing relationship extended to the West Coast. BTW, lobster is only cheaper than bologna if you discount yield.

  5. Cheryl A says:

    Well, if the cost of live comes down… which it hasn’t out here. I’m just not sure about frozen product.

  6. danamccauley says:

    It’s interesting that prices vary so widely across the continent. I’ve also just learned that the Canadian harvesting practices are quite outdated and potentially more harmful to whales than the Maine system. You need to know so much these days to be a responsible consumer!

  7. Cheryl says:

    For me, lobster will always be a special food. Special in that I just can’t see myself eating it more than once or twice a year, kind of like caviar.

    As for bologna, no thanks. Blech.

  8. Hélène says:

    When I was living in NB & NS we had lobster often because of the price. I’m missing it.

  9. dinnerwithjulie says:

    Ha! I just talked about this on CBC this morning. Lobster is decidedly not the new bologna in Calgary – $2-$4/lb for bologna, $30+/lb. for even frozen lobster meat and lobster tails. Even the distributors said their prices have not dropped at all (and were not aware of the surplus) – some seafood shops said their prices went up in January. Of course the majority of frozen lobster doesn’t come from Atlantic Canada anyway, but from Cuba, Brazil, the Caribbean..

  10. danamccauley says:

    Hey Julie,

    Thanks for the update from CBC West!

  11. I follow your posts for quite a long time and should tell you that your posts are always valuable to readers.

  12. […] more elaborate recipes (such as Lobster Thermidor – yum!) or as an ingredient in foods such as quiche. About the only thing I don’t adore made with lobster is a sandwich — why hide that sweet […]

Leave a Reply

