Chopstick trick

howtodisplaychospticksDisplaying functional things attractively can be a challenge, but I love this way of setting out chopsticks on a buffet table – so much more creative than just plunking them in a glass!

Do you have any easy tips for making a buffet table look great?

8 Responses to Chopstick trick

  1. Linda Avery says:

    You’ve added texture and height to the table. Lovely. There’s nothing more boring than displaying everything at one level. Thanks Dana.

  2. dinnerwithjulie says:

    I bought a whack of old mismatched forks at Value Village (and garage sales) which I keep/set out in an old large Rogers Golden Syrup tin. Guess it depends on the look you’re going for, but it always ensures I have enough cutlery for everyone! It’s almost Martha! (But not silver.. sigh)

  3. danamccauley says:

    Linda, I actually didn’t invent this arrangement. This is a picture I took at the Astor House in New York at an event they hosted.

    I agree with you that it’s nice to have some height and an interesting shape!

    Julie, your cutlery idea sounds really fun and relaxed – love it!

  4. Amy Snider says:

    As I have been doing some searching on this front for the wedding, I thought this site had some cool colour coordinated ideas for buffet tables…
    http://www.hostessblog.com/

  5. Cheryl says:

    I always throw a riot of colors and patterns on the buffet table. I’m hoping it looks like I intentionally put together a mishmash of chic patterns and designs, but in reality none of my pieces match and I have no design sense whatsoever.

    My goal is to provide so much food that people don’t pay attention to my amateurish decor.

  6. danamccauley says:

    Cheryl, good thinking!

  7. Amy Snider says:

    On additional flower centerpiece idea that I loved from a recent magazine article is to use banana/bamboo leaves to wrap around any cheap jar or glass and tie it with ribbon or raffia. It looked terrific with some simple lilac or other flowers.

  8. CakeSpy says:

    I’m always so impressed by little details like this, they always class up an event. Must remember it next time I entertain!🙂

Leave a Reply

