Say “yes” to pie!

A Piece of the PieJust like casseroles, pie is back! I know that since last October I’ve made more pies and tarts than ever before and at my dining room gatherings, pie has definitely been the new cake!

While recipes for great pies are bouncing around the internet at frenetic speed, places that make great pie are also getting their fair share of attention:

Three Sisters Pies in Alberta is a much-loved staple at the Millarsville Farmers’ Market because their dessert pies made from premium, regional, ethical and organic ingredients make people feel good about eating pie while their super flaky, hand-crafted flaky pastry makes doing the right thing a pleasure!

Gourmet on the Lake’s Muskoka Food Boutique has an entire day of the week devoted to pie! That’s right, every Friday they have a full roster of fresh sweet and savoury pies ready for their customers to take home and love as their own!

And, if you’re thinking that this pie pandemonium is just a Canadian thing, guess again. According to this post in The Nibble, pies are quite often the preferred choice in the US right now, too.

Can you recommend a place that makes great pies in your area? And, what do you prefer: cake or pie?

BTW, if you feel like baking a pie yourself, you might find these previous posts useful:

Ten Double Crust Pie Tricks

Choosing a rolling pin

Tarte tatin

23 Responses to Say “yes” to pie!

  1. Rosa says:

    I’ve always loved pies! That’s an awesome and versatile treat…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. ash says:

    Cake over pie for sure for me! Especially if ice cream is involved!🙂

    Around our area the best place to order pies is Royer’s
    http://www.royersroundtopcafe.com
    They’ve been on food network a couple of times I believe!

  3. Barb says:

    If I choose one over the other won’t that make the unchosen one feel bad? I couldn’t do that. I often make crisps when I want pie to avoid the crust step. A good friend of mine (male) has been going through a pie baking phase for the last while. Ahem, I mean year. He is making me feel a bit incompetent in the pie baking department so I think I’ll get my rolling pin out from the back of the drawer and make my famous rhubarb pie as soon as the shoots are big enough.

  4. Being able to do a short crust (pâte brisée) in a short time, I do tarts whenever the mood and ingredients suit me. When I demo them in class, people cannot believe how easy it is.

  5. Cheryl A says:

    In fact, I’m eating pie right now. Well, the filling at least (but that’s another story). Pie for breakfast and cake for dessert!

  6. danamccauley says:

    Oh, are you a pie miner Cheryl A? It drives my husband crazy that my family mines pies and leaves the crust behind.

  7. Diva says:

    Cake for me, please. I’ve never been a big fan of pies. Its not that I don’t like them, they just don’t thrill me … I think its the lack of chocolate! That said, I do enjoy lemon meringue and once has a slice of spectacular chocolate lemon pie from a bakery in Connecticut who’s name I cannot recall.

  8. Cheryl A says:

    No, not a miner. But I did have a pie disaster, so the filling was all that was good to eat.

  9. danamccauley says:

    Condolences to your crust.

  10. […] Original post by Dana McCauley’s food blog […]

  11. I vote for cake. Like Diva, I’m not a huge pie fan, although I admit to a weakness for a certain graham-crusted lemon pie made with condensed milk. I think my main pie complaint is with fruit pies because the filling is usually too sweet and not fruity enough.

    This pie / cake debate always reminds me of Jim Gaffigan. He’s hilarious. And, if I do remember correctly, he comes down on the side of cake. Yay, cake.

  12. Hélène says:

    I only make pies in the Fall when I buy fresh apples. I’m more into cupcakes these days.

  13. dinnerwithjulie says:

    Ha! I’ve been telling people for ages that pie is making a comeback. Just finished a piece on it! I want to do a photo essay, or a coffee table book – it’s just so pretty.

  14. danamccauley says:

    I’ll buy that book!

    By the way, thanks for telling me about Three Sisters pies in the first place Jules.

  15. Kevin says:

    I have certainly been enjoying pies lately, especially savoury ones.

  16. Cakelaw says:

    I think I’d have to say a pie person. There is nowhere that I’d name as being particularly fabulous for pies here – I think homemade is best (although your pie in the photo looks fab).

  17. Glenn Barley says:

    My Anne makes the best Pies I have ever had. Period!
    every other fussed up pie is crap.

    Apple, Period.
    or in season, strawb & rhubarb, Period

    Like Pizza with only 2 toppings, Mozza and tomato sauce. Period!

    Like Martini’s, ONLY gin with vermouth, Period!

    can we try and act like adults and rediscover simple and good stuff again.

    thank you.

  18. danamccauley says:

    So Glenn,

    How do you really feel?

  19. Glenn Barley says:

    Done

Leave a Reply

