Cheese on a roll

unwraproll

In the “why didn’t I think of this?” category: Unwrap and roll mozzarella cheese!

What a fantastic idea for making cheese appetizers all your own. These sheets of mozzarella are perfect for filling with all kinds of yummy stuff. While serving the entire filled log is a terrific way to show off your cheese creativity, I’d love to try placing a thickly-sliced spiral of one of these filled cheeses on top of a toasted piece of bread to soften and warm, too.

I haven’t found a store in my area that sells this tricked out cheesy goodness, but I’ve got money in my pocket reserved to buy a pack or two as soon as I find it!

As soon as I find some, I’m going to fill one with nutless arugula pesto, roasted red peppers and chopped kalamata olives. What would you roll up in this cheesy wrapper?

Also, have you see any clever new food products lately?

12 Responses to Cheese on a roll

  1. Cheryl A says:

    I don’t share your excitement Dana. I don’t think I would ever think to buy this.

  2. danamccauley says:

    Really? How come?

  3. Anne Nicol says:

    Yum – what a great idea!

    I would fill it with a sundried tomato pesto!
    Keep us posted when you find it – I will keep on the look out too!

    Happy Day!

  4. I’m afraid my initial reaction was closer to Cheryl A’s than Anne’s. I like the concept, but worry about how processed it is. While I trust your judgement, my first thought was “processed cheese food”.

  5. danamccauley says:

    Char, my understanding is that it isn’t processed differently just rolled and pressed. I could be wrong, but I think this is more like buying shreds versus buying a block of cheese.

    Any one have other info to add to that aspect of the discussion?

  6. Thanks, Dana. When I read this all I could think about was “cheese strings” which is a dairy product I won’t touch.

    If it’s real mozzarella just rolled and pressed, then I am far more likely to try it. There’s so much rubber cheese out there I am unnecessarily skeptical.

  7. Cheryl A says:

    Charmain answered why I wouldn’t touch it, if it is indeed more processed than just cheese in a different shape. Generally, I am skeptical of new food products as a whole. The more hands/machines that were involved in making it the less I want it.

  8. cheryl says:

    Hmm, I like mozzarella, but only melted. I bet this would be nice broiled on a piece of French bread, but then all the stuffing would kind of ooze out.

    I’m also not sure I want my cheese to look like Christmas.

  9. Natashya says:

    Well, I am all for olives and red peppers. I would give this a try, as long as the ingredients list real food and not chemicals.

  10. Barb says:

    I come here to find out about the clever new food products!

  11. Anne says:

    I’m a little late to comment on this entry but this is currently available in Wisconsin (home to BelGiosio). It isn’t particularly processed – the ingredient list is nice and short – but the moisture content is a little low. I tried it with pesto and sundried tomatoes and it was quite tasty but it needs to be fully at or above room temperature to have the texture you’d expect. It’s quite “plastic” when cold. I’ve also heard it works well when cut into shapes and used as a garnish on appetizers.

  12. danamccauley says:

    Thanks Anne – love the idea of cutting the cheese into shapes!

Leave a Reply

