Topline Trends Tuesday: Macarons

macaronsgreen

That glossy, light and delicious French-style macaron cookies are all the rage isn’t exactly news. All you have to do is walk down a street in Paris or visit 20 international food blogs and you’ll find recipes and flavour variations on these cookies that will boggle your mind! In fact, Parisian pastry aficionado David Lebovitz reported in his blog that Ladurée’s four bakeries alone sell over four million macarons a year. That’s a whole lotta Italian meringue!

What is new is that this trend is finally catching on in Toronto. You can now get these fine cookies at a number of places including Amadeus Fine Cakes in Thornhill.

Curious to learn more about the history and craft of making macarons?

Check out these excellent references I’ve bookmarked if you want to find out more about these delicious, melt-in-your-mouth morsels (PS: this photo is borrowed from  Oh Joy!’s site.)

Pierre Hermé
David Lebovitz
Tartelette
Canelle et Vanille

9 Responses to Topline Trends Tuesday: Macarons

  1. Cheryl A says:

    I’ve never had one and the nut ban in our house means I’ve never made one either (all recipes I’ve seen have almonds), but I sure want to try one.

  2. Ashamed to say that despite my sweet tooth, I’ve never had a macaron. Is it just me or do they look like little tiny coloured hamburgers?

    Meringue is one of the few dessert items I can live without. Are they sickly sweet like a pavlova or does the filling temper them? Just curious.

    On the other hand, it doesn’t really matter since a big part of me that wants to make them just for the funk factor.

  3. Barb says:

    Add one more to the never tried column. Yet. You’re right, Dana, it seems like they are all the rage. I turn on the Food Network for a few minutes from time to time and I have seen 3 or 4 different chefs include them in their meal plan for that day. Those ones were all plain or maybe vanilla flavored. This is the first time I have seen other flavors. Might have to give them a whirl.

  4. danamccauley says:

    Here’s a link to a great post TasteTO.com did listing good Toronto sources for macarons:

    http://www.tasteto.com/2008/12/07/where-can-i-find-french-style-macarons

  5. Diva says:

    I always thought I hated macarons … until I had one in Paris. It was chocolate, of course, and so light in texture yet densely flavored – I finally understood what all the fuss was about. Divine.

    That said, I’ve also had some pretty awful versions, mostly here in the US. I’m drooling over the violet macarons on that Tartelette link. Wow!

  6. Kevin says:

    I have made my own but I have never had store bought ones. Thanks for TO store links!

  7. Veronica says:

    Oh what I wouldn’t do to be in Paris eating real French Macarons… I guess the home made substitute will just have to tide me over till then.
    Thanks so much for the visit to my blog, Dana, I’m honoured! ^_^

  8. danamccauley says:

    veronica, the honour is all mine!

Leave a Reply

