Pasta making

pastaA few weeks ago, the folks from KitchenAid sent me a pasta maker to try out. While I’m always happy to have a reason to make fresh pasta, I was a bit amused. Their offer  proves what short memories large organizations have. You see, the PR person who approached me to try this machine obviously didn’t know that I used to sell this very apparatus on The Shopping Channel. She was, as the saying goes, “preaching to the converted.”

I was tempted to tell her my history with this gadget but I really didn’t want to  underline that I’m pretty much a dinosaur who has been in this business far longer than most people can remember. Besides, I love a plate of fresh saffron and lime noodles dressed lightly with olive oil (or butter) and garnished with a halo of whisper-thin curls of shaved pecorino cheese, so I got over myself and headed to the kitchen instead.

Here’s the recipe so you can enjoy a bowl of these noodles, too.

Saffron-Lime Fresh Pasta
2 cups (500 mL) all-purpose flour
3 eggs
2 tsp (10 mL) finely grated lime zest
¼ tsp (1 mL) saffron threads
1/4 tsp (1 mL) salt

Place flour in the mixing bowl of a stand mixer. Using a fork, beat eggs with lime, saffron and salt. Add the eggs to the bowl and mix using a dough hook until a soft dough forms.

Knead dough using the dough hook for 5 minutes until dough is smooth and elastic. Knead into a ball and cover with plastic wrap; let rest for 20 minutes. Divide dough into 3 pieces to make handling easier; cover.
Flatten each piece of dough with your hand or a rolling pin; dust with flour. Feed through the widest setting of the pasta attachment rollers 3 times, lightly flouring after each pass through the machine.

Set machine to next narrowest setting; run dough through once. Repeat, running dough through rollers until next-to-finest setting is reached. Cut the dough in half if it becomes too long to handle easily. Lightly flour dough; run through finest setting. Repeat with remaining portions of dough.

Hang the rolled dough over a pasta rack (you can make one by balancing a clean broomstick between two chairs) until leathery but not dry about 20 minutes.

Change setting from rolling to cutting position. Cut pasta into 10 – to 12-in (25 to 30 cm) lengths. Feed each length through the cutter.

To cook: add noodles in lots of salted, boiling water and boil for 2 minutes or until al dente. Drain in a colander and toss with extra virgin olive oil or butter to coat. Season to taste.

Photo credit: Tracy Cox

19 Responses to Pasta making

  1. Barb says:

    The recipe sounds wooonderful! I don’t have a machine but have ezten homemade pasta a few times and, if I had the space, would consider having one.

  2. danamccauley says:

    I’ve heard of people (usually families) buying one to share and just rotating ‘custody’ of the pasta maker around between them. That might be something for you to consider Barb.

  3. Sheryl says:

    Can I just point out that my heart stopped momentarily when I looked up this KitchenAid item and found it to cost $199.99??? It requires a bit of human energy, but you can buy a basic, hand-cranked pasta maker with a variety of settings for $30 at Honest Ed’s.

  4. I agreed with Sheryl until I had the KitchenAid attachment. Besides having two hands free to the operation, the end-product is better because the motorized rollers work at a constant speed.

    The one problem I’ve had is with the spaghetti cutter. The company say that they will replace it but it has ben on back order for 3 months now.

    KitchenAid does offer a substantial IACP discount for those who are members.

  5. Natashya says:

    I love my KA pasta roller, it is by far their best attachment. Great recipe, sounds divine!

  6. danamccauley says:

    Barb, and others who don’t have a pasta roller attachment or a hand pasta roller, you can still make homemade pasta. Here’s a great post that shows, step-by-step, the technique to use:

    http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2009/05/homemade-pasta/comment-page-5/#comment-404665

    Sheryl, I agree with Peter – once you go KA, you won’t go back. It is a luxurious indulgence though if you don’t make pasta for a living.

  7. I know I don’t NEED a pasta maker, but things like this tempt me so much. The $200 price tag is a bit steep and I don’t eat pasta often enough to justify one (nor do I have the room to store it) and yet, I would love to roll up my sleeves and make some pasta when I see posts like this.

    Thanks for the link to the handmade pasta.

  8. Rosa says:

    A wonderful sounding recipe! Homemade pasta are the best!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  9. Sheryl says:

    Dana – I don’t think I’ve documented my hate/hate relationship with my KA stand mixer, but you should know that I look upon the thing with loathing and resentment every time I walk past it. If it hadn’t been free/a gift, I’d still refuse to own one.🙂

  10. I love the idea of citrus zest right in the pasta! It might be a good weekend to pull out my trusty hand crank (the KA is not in the budget right now) and make some pasta to go with the local asparagus finally appearing.

  11. Eagranie says:

    Oh, this sounds delicious. I’m a luddite and don’t have a pasta maker (hand-cranked or otherwise) so it’s a rolling pin and rustic tagliatelle for me.

  12. Sue says:

    The only kind of homemade pasta I’ve ever made is the kind you make for Chicken and Noodles, and I haven’t made those in probably 20 years. I think it’s great that the folks at Kitchen Aid have short memories and bestowed you with a new pasta making gadget.
    Some day I might splurge and get a pasta attachment for my KA, but for now I’ll have to admire other people’s hand made pasta.
    Pasta with lime is an intriguing combo!

  13. foodcreate says:

    Your Pasta loosks delicious! I going to make some tonight.
    Thanks for sharing:)

    and you can visit me if i can visit you:)

    Welcome! foodcreate

  14. Diva says:

    OMG this sounds good. I’ll take mine with butter, please!

  15. danamccauley says:

    One bowl coming up!

  16. Amy says:

    Oooh thanks for the recipe! I would LOVE to make this homemade….heheheh…

  17. Kevin says:

    Free stuff is always good. I have been considering getting a pasta maker to make fresh pasta.

  18. danamccauley says:

    It really is a great thing to make homemade lasagna noodles. I like to roll them super thin and make a sky-high meatless lasagna. It’s worth the price of the attachment right there!

  19. Jeffrey says:

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I
    have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

