Frozen assets

frozen

Do you buy some things as ‘just in case’ items? You know, like just in case you have unexpected visitors and you need a wheel of cheese. Or, just in case your kids have friends in and you need chips and dip?

If you do shop with these kinds of thoughts in mind, are you being honest or are you are buying them because you want to eat them?

For me, it’s about wanting to eat them. Seriously. In the grocery store I can be a big fat liar to myself. Case in point: the Dufflet chocolate cake pictured above that I bought for the freezer just in case someone drops by sometime and demands a dessert.

When did I defrost it? On a Saturday afternoon when I had a chocolate craving. We actually did have a house guest staying with us that weekend, but he was out.

So there. Now you know my deep, dark, chocolate secret.

10 Responses to Frozen assets

  1. Rosa says:

    I never buy “just in case” items, but have a massive stock of food that enables me to cook whatever (more or less) and whenever I want…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Terry says:

    I can’t buy the stash desserts either. I have come to like frozen cookies even better than thawed ones (I guess I could pretend to be proud of my adaptability?). I like Rosa’s idea of having the ingredients on hand to be able to whip up something quickly – that’s smart!

  3. danamccauley says:

    Rosa is, indeed smart, but I also always have ingredients on hand. I just also always buy ’emergency’ stuff, too.

    Speaking of frozen cookies, my favs are girl guide cookies. Yum!

  4. Barb says:

    I’m no stranger to the freezer, either. I try not to buy much anymore but I bake and freeze so what’s the difference?

  5. Amy says:

    I have emergency items…But I don’t eat them…Not unless they’re *that* good….

  6. cheryl says:

    I buy rice pudding for my kids’ dessert just in case they want something quick, even though I know full well that they prefer tapioca (which I hate). Guess who loves rice pudding?

  7. I never buy “just in case” items like this. No freezer room and even less willpower.

    If wine counts for drop-in guests, then we’re covered, but goodies — even a wheel of cheese — would disappear.

  8. Y says:

    A chocolate cake in the freezer! I can’t imagine it would last long enough in mine, to be served when people drop by unexpectedly.

  9. That looks so good! I bake all the time saying to myself it’s for somebody I end up eating it and not giving it away.

Leave a Reply

